Road Racing News

Sarolea Racing Announce 2016 TT Zero Rider Line Up

Sarolea Racing have announced their rider line up for the 2016 TT zero race.

Competing for the Belgium based outfit, are two of pure road racing’s most colourful and popular competitors.

They are six international road race winner Lee Johnston and making his TT zero debut, Dean Harrison.

Sarolea IOMTT 2016 Dean Harrison

Photo by Rob Mitchell

Embarking on his first appearance in the innovative TT zero class, Dean said:

“It’s my first time racing the TT Zero and I cannot wait. I’ve been following the team since they raced for the first time in 2014 and I’m itching to get on the bike. The technology is off the scale and this year is going to be flat out.”

Sarolea IOMTT 2016 Lee Johnston

Photo by Rob Mitchell

Third place finisher in last years TT zero race Lee Johnston added on joining Sarolea:

“I’m buzzing to be on-board with Saroléa. I raced last year for a different team and podiumed 3rd, this year the plan is to podium again but faster!”

Since competing for the first time around the Mountain Course in 2014, Sarolea have developed quickly into been one of the leading TT zero outfits.

Robert Wilson’s fourth place finish in 2014 just missing out on a podium, was backed up by more than creditable fifth place finish in last years electric bike TT encounter.


Photo courtesy of Anne Powys-Keck

Torsten Robbens of Sarolea stated that the signing’s of Lee and Dean, marked a huge step forward for the team.

“Having multiple bikes on the 2016 TT grid, in combination with two of the best road racers in the world is another huge step forward in the Saroléa journey!”

Sarolea’s current PB lap speed at the Isle of Man TT, is 106.510 mph.

With the undoubted calibre of Lee Johnston and Dean Harrison, expectations are extremely positive, that a first podium finish at the most famous road race in the world, is a prime possibility.

It’s great news for the TT zero class, that two of the roads most talented riders will be competing against the Mugen’s, piloted by John McGuinness and Bruce Anstey.

A fascinating 2016 TT zero is in prospect, it’s set to be a quite memorable one for the improving Sarolea Racing.

Words by Stevie Rial

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.