Road Racing News

Supersport TT Start Numbers Announced

The top twenty start numbers for the Monster Energy supersport races at TT 2016, have been announced.

John McGuinness is set to lead the field away, as he pilots one of Jackson Racing’s CBR 600 Honda’s.

Bruce Anstey holding the number two plate, Padgetts Racing CBR 600 Honda, will start one of the favourites for series of victories on the 600’s, as he aims to add to his current tally of ten TT victories.

James Hillier at number three, is recognised more at present for his exploits in the 1000cc and lightweight races around the Mountain Course, don’t be surprised though if he’s in contention for podium finishes on the Quattro Plant Muc Off ZX6R Kawasaki.

Ian Hutchinson enjoyed memorable Monster Energy supersport victories with Team Traction Control during TT 2015, will he make it eight supersport TT wins this year with Keith Flint’s team? Time will tell, but in my opinion he starts as the rider they all have to beat.


Fifth away is reigning Macau Grand Prix winner Peter Hickman, competing on his own teams ZX6R Kawasaki, he has the international road race winning craft, to be a force to be reckoned with.

The same notion applies to Michael Dunlop number six, who is still to confirm his supersport machinery for TT 2016.

Gary Johnson holds his lucky number seven on the Team T3 Racing 675 Daytona Triumph. Having given Triumph their first TT success since 2003 in 2014, Gary is confident that he has package capable of providing him with more Mountain Course glory.

Another of the pre race favourites is William Dunlop at number eighth, competing on Ivan Curran/CD Racing’s ultra quick YZF R6 Yamaha.

Next up at number nine is four time TT winner Michael Rutter, leading Bathams SMT Racing’s challenge.

Concluding the top ten starters is Conor Cummins, who whilst in my opinion is not a podium contender on the 600’s, is still more than capable of wrapping up series of world class results.

Cameron Donald holding the number 11 plate, could well prove a dark horse for victories, on the Wilson Craig Racing CBR 600 Honda.

Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison number 12, can also not be discounted from challenging for podium finishes.

Lee Johnston retains his customary number 13 on the East Coast Racing 675 Daytona Triumph, as he aims to a TT victory to his six international road race wins tally, consisting of three North West 200 wins and three Ulster Grand Prix victories.

Next away is Dan Kneen, who announced his presence as a leading light in the TT Races, following fifth place finish in the opening Monster Energy supersport race during TT 2010.

Set to pilot Mar Train Racing YZF R6 Yamaha, it would not surprise anyone if Dan secures at least one podium finish.

Australia’s fastest competitor at TT Races David Johnson number 15, has the talent to push the established 600 front runners, it’s still to confirmed David’s supersport mount.

2015 TT privateers champion Dan Cooper, is next up at 16, he adds strength in depth to Triumph’s presence, as he competes on his own teams 675 Daytona Triumph.

The top twenty starters is finalised by Wilcock Consulting backed Dan Stewart 17, Martin Jessopp 18, 2014 Duke Road Race Rankings champion James Cowton 19 and Devitt RC Express Racing’s Ivan Lintin at 20.

Additional numbers to look out for outside the top twenty include Jamie Coward 21, Dan Hegarty 22 and Malachi Mitchell Thomas at 23, who has been in my opinion by a long way so far the leading rider on the roads in 2016.

Derek McGee 24, Steve Mercer 25, Sam West 27, Connor Behan 34, Chris Dixon 39, Hudson Kennaugh 43, Rob Hodson 49 and recent senior support winner at Tandragee Joe Newbould 50, are all ones to watch.

Three newcomers are entered they include the Netherlands Olaf Romijn who carries number 95, on his own teams Hyperpro backed ZX6R Kawasaki.

Monster Energy supersport TT start numbers, as follows:

1 John McGuinness
2 Bruce Anstey
3 James Hillier
4 Ian Hutchinson
5 Peter Hickman
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Gary Johnson
8 William Dunlop
9 Michael Rutter
10 Conor Cummins
11 Cameron Donald
12 Dean Harrison
13 Lee Johnston
14 Dan Kneen
15 David Johnson
16 Dan Cooper
17 Dan Stewart
18 Martin Jessopp
19 James Cowton
20 Ivan Lintin
21 Jamie Coward
22 Dan Hegarty
23 Malachi Mitchell Thomas
24 Derek McGee
25 Steve Mercer
31 Mark Miller
34 Connor Behan
39 Chris Dixon
43 Hudson Kennaugh
44 David Sellers
49 Rob Hodson
50 Joe Newbould
61 Karl Foster
62 Paul Smyth
95 Olaf Romijn

Words by Stevie Rial

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.