Road Racing News

John McGuinness Makes It TT Win Number 22 In 2015 TT Zero

The 2015 TT zero race saw Bruce Anstey make a fantastic start to Glen Helen going into race lead by 0.852 over Mugen team mate John McGuinness.

At Ballaugh Bridge though the race lead changed as 2014 TT zero winner McGuinness went 2.259 second advantage over Anstey whilst Lee Johnston competing for Victory Motorcycles held third position.

The race lead increased to 4.974 seconds at Ramsey Hairpin, Robert Wilson in fifth was showcasing the potential of the SP7 Sarolea.

Bruce Anstey trimmed down John McGuinness’s race lead by the Bungalow to 2.405 seconds, Victory Motorcycles duo of Lee Johnston and Guy Martin held third and fourth positions.

The gap out front increased slightly to 2.961 seconds as McGuinness wasn’t far away from securing what would be his 22nd TT victory.

John McGuinness crossed the line at the end of the one lap race to record his 22nd TT Races victory, he’s now only four away from the legendary Joey Dunlop’s record of 26 TT victories.

John’s lap speed of 119.279 mph is a new lap record for the TT zero class which is seeing year on year speed’s increasing in the innovative race.

Mugen performance team mate Bruce Anstey on the Shiden Yon Mugen secured second place as he lapped at an impressive 118.857 mph.


Rounding out the top three finishers was Victory Motorcycles Lee Johnston who recorded his second podium finish during TT 2015.

Victory Motorcycles team mate Guy Martin competing for the first time in TT zero race finished a highly creditable fourth.

Finishing in fifth position was Sarolea Racing’s Robert Wilson who produced a highly accomplished performance around the mountain course.

Michael Sweeney secured new personal best TT Races finish as he finished a fine sixth on Nottingham University’s electric machine.

The amazing John McGuinness story at the Isle of Man TT continues. The road racing legend now up to 22 TT victories produced today another fantastic performance on the most famous road racing circuit in the world.


Plus for Mugen it’s success for the second year in a row in TT zero, the iconic manufacturer alongside Motocsyz is only the second marque to be victorious twice in the electric bike based race.

Although there was only seven starters for the 2015 TT zero race we saw a great one lap duel between Mugen’s John McGuinness and Bruce Anstey for race victory.

We’ve also seen the potential of Victory Motorcycles and the increased pace from Sarolea Racing.

We can’t be far away from the first 120 mph lap from an electric bike at TT Races, this quite easily could happen at TT 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.