Ivan Lintin Secures Dream Lightweight TT Race Win

Ivan Lintin Secures Dream Lightweight TT Race Win

The 2015 lightweight TT saw on lap one at Glen Helen James Hillier make a storming start on Quattro Plant backed ER6 Kawasaki holding 1.545 seconds lead over RC Express Racing’s Ivan Lintin.

Ryan Farquhar held third position as Lee Johnston, Dan Cooper and ILR Paton mounted Michael Rutter all held top six positions.

By Ballaugh Bridge Hillier’s lead increased to 1.709 seconds over Lintin as Farquhar was also in the mix in third as KMR Kawasaki team mate Lee Johnston held fourth place.

At Ramsey Hairpin it was all change for race lead as Ivan Lintin hit the front by 1.766 seconds over Ryan Farquhar now into second as James Hillier dropped back to third.

Lintin’s lead stretched to 2.753 seconds by the Bungalow as Farquhar, Hillier, Johnston where all closely matched in second, third, fourth places.

Ivan Lintin’s lead at Cronk Ny Mona was now up to 2.998 seconds over Ryan Farquhar, James Hillier maintained third place in front of three time international road race winner Lee Johnston.

As lap one came to a conclusion Ivan Lintin’s lead was 2.132 seconds over Ryan Farquhar as both riders the pit lane for their pit stops.

Following pit stops attention’s turned to Glen Helen on lap two.

Glen Helen saw Jamie Hamilton who hadn’t pitted at the end of opening lap go into race lead by 3.145 seconds over Ivan Lintin, James Hillier was third, Lee Johnston fourth, Michael Russell fifth, Michael Rutter completed the top six.

Ryan Farquhar was a confirmed retirement at Cronkyvoddy as Ballaugh Bridge would see Ivan Lintin back into race lead by 1.101 seconds over Jamie Hamilton whilst James Hillier in third was showcasing his undoubted super twin’s quality.

Position’s within the top three remained the same at Ramsey Hairpin but the gap out front was widening as Lintin upped his advantage to 4.244 seconds.

At the Bungalow James Hillier was back into second place in front of Jamie Hamilton, Ivan Lintin upped his race lead to 4.645 seconds as he was proving why he is regarded as one of the leading 650 super twins riders in pure road racing.

By Cronk Ny Mona the gap out front was down to 3.871 seconds as James Hillier reduced Ivan Lintin’s race lead slightly down.

End of lap two saw Ivan Lintin hold a 3.906 second advantage over James Hillier whilst Lee Johnston moved into third position as Jamie Hamilton and Michael Russell entered for their scheduled pit stops.

Glen Helen on the final lap provided Ivan Lintin with a race lead of 3.264 seconds, James Hillier in second was on a charge as he targeted his second lightweight TT victory.

Lee Johnston retired from the race when holding third position, this elevated factory Paton rider Michael Rutter to third position in front of Stewart Smith Racing’s James Cowton.

Lintin’s lead out front was cut marginally by Ballaugh Bridge to 3.099 seconds as James Hillier, Michael Rutter, James Cowton, Dan Cooper, Jamie Hamilton rounded out the top six.

Ramsey Hairpin would prove crucial in the outcome of who was going to win this fantastic race. Ivan Lintin upped his race lead to 4.943 seconds over James Hillier, the leading duo looked both set for the first 120 mph laps by super twins on the mountain course.

At the Bungalow Lintin’s lead was down to 3.873 seconds but it was back up to 4.038 seconds at Cronk Ny Mona, the RC Express Racing rider wasn’t far away from recording his first race win at TT Races.

End of lap three saw Ivan Lintin record a popular first TT Races victory following a world class performance on RC Express Racing’s ER6 Kawasaki.


Ivan is now part of a select group of competitors to have been victorious at the most iconic of all road races, the Isle of Man TT.

James Hillier broke the lightweight TT lap record on the final lap with lap speed of 120.848 mph as he finished 3.875 seconds behind the race winner.


James continues his superb lightweight TT record, he’s the only rider to have finished on the podium in all lightweight TT races since the classes reincarnation in 2012.

Finishing a superb third was ILR Paton’s Michael Rutter who was delighted with his first TT Races podium finish since TT zero victory in 2013.


2014 Duke road race rankings champion James Cowton clinched excellent fourth place finish as Jamie Hamilton finished an impressive fifth.

Dan Cooper secured personal best TT finish of sixth position on CMS Racing backed ER6 Kawasaki, completing top ten finishers where Michael Russell securing fantastic seventh place finish, Mark Miller, Connor Behan and Danny Webb.

Further standout performances included TT newcomer Derek Mcgee finished an excellent 11th, Adrian Harrison securing 15th place finish, Maria Costello MBE a fine 16th and Ben Rea impressed finishing in 23rd position.

It’s been a dream of Ivan Lintin’s since he started racing to become a race winner at the Isle of Man TT.

The reigning Steve Henshaw international gold cup winner has accomplished his racing ambition following a wonderful display on RC Express Racing’s ER6 Kawasaki.


For RC Express Racing it’s their second consecutive lightweight TT success having been victorious in 2014 with Dean Harrison.

Plus its Ivan’s fourth international road race victory but without a doubt the biggest of them all.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *