IRRC Imatra – World Class Supersport/Superbike Action

IRRC Imatra – World Class Supersport/Superbike Action

The opening IRRC superport and superbike races at Imatra, saw many of continental Europe’s leading pure road racers, provide world class action a plenty around the iconic road race circuit in Finland.

IRRC Supersport Race 1:

Marek Cerveny’s strengthened his defence of his IRRC supersport championship lead, with a quite dominant victory.

Piloting the Intermoto backed ZX6R Kawasaki, Marek was literally in a class of his own, as he showcased yet again today why he is considered by many as the Czech Republic’s leading pure road racer.

Thomas Walther finished an excellent second, France’s Pierre Yves Bian finalised the top three finishers.

Arnaud Seydoux was fourth, Denmark’s Anders Blaha was fifth as Wolfgang Schuster, completed the top six.

Bjorn Gunnarsson piloting his own teams CBR 600 Honda was a highly creditable seventh, Stefan Wauter battled his way to eighth, Christian Schmitz was ninth, the top ten was concluded by Sebastian Frotscher.

IRRC Supersport Race 1 Results:

1 Marek Cerveny
2 Thomas Walther
3 Pierre Yves Bian
4 Arnaud Seydoux
5 Anders Blaha
6 Wolfgang Schuster
7 Bjorn Gunnarsson
8 Stefan Wauter
9 Christian Schmitz
10 Sebastian Frotscher
11 Sammy Ahonen
12 Boris Liegeois
13 Patrik Andersson
14 Miroslav Sloboda
15 Hendrik Volt
16 Vladimir Sterlnik
17 Petr Kostal
18 Jani Hjerppe
19 Mike Ceuppens
20 Tuukka Korhonen

IRRC Superbike Race 1:

Reigning IRRC superbike champion Sebastien Le Grelle was victorious in a close fought opening superbike race, at Imatra.

Victorious by just 0.875 of a second, Sebastien held off a determined challenge from Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux team mate Vincent Lonbois, who’s IRRC superbike championship lead he has reduced today to 24 points.

Didier Grams completed the top three finishers whilst Erno Kostamo fourth, finished the leading competitor from Finland.

Fellow Finn and roads debutant Pauli Pekkanen secured a more than creditable fifth, same notion applies to Marko Ratto 6th and Thomas Wendel in seventh place.

Marco Pagani propelled the Team Franciacorta Corse by RMS S1000RR BMW to eighth in front of two time TT Races competitor Juha Kallio.

The top ten was finalised by Jochem Van Den Hoek on the Performance Team Achterhoek ZX10R Kawasaki.

Sebastian Le Grelle Juha Kallio

Photo by Lars Törnqvist

IRRC Superbike Race 1 Results:

1 Sebastien Le Grelle
2 Vincent Lonbois
3 Didier Grams
4 Erno Kostamo
5 Pauli Pekkanen
6 Marko Ratto
7 Thomas Wendel
8 Marco Pagani
9 Juha Kallio
10 Jochem Van Den Hoek
11 Jan Kopponen
12 Petr Biciste
13 Kamil Holan
14 Thomas Berghammer
15 Johan Fredriks
16 Pavel Tomecek
17 David Datzer
18 Herve Somson
19 Jean Pier Polet
20 Aleksi Nikolaev
21 Carl-Joha Kallman

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *