Classic TT Preview: Part 3 – Lightweight Race

Classic TT Preview: Part 3 – Lightweight Race

Incorporated into the Classic TT schedule in 2016, this year’s Lightweight two stroke field embarking upon the Isle of Man, features TT winners, an array of 250 specialists and a selection of International road racing’s fastest rising talents.

Laylaw Racing running for the first time three riders, have for many the number 1 team roster, having secured the services of ten times TT winner Ian Lougher, Goole’s Phil Harvey and class debutant, second fastest rider in TT history Dean Harrison.

Fresh from scooping the Superstock crown at the MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix, Bradford’s Harrison although a relative newcomer to two stroke machinery cannot be discounted from contending for race honours.

Photo by Mark Corlett

For many though it’s his new team mate, Welsh roads legend Ian Lougher who starts the pre race favourite.

Runner up the last two years to Bruce Anstey, the twice Duke Road Race Rankings champion is ultra keen to go one better as he aims to bolster a Classic TT CV, which presently includes two race wins and in total five podium finishes.

Team mate Phil Harvey, for years regarded amongst pure road racing’s foremost 250 exponents, has the undoubted ability to be in the mix for the victory spoils, same applies to Padgetts Racing’s Lee Johnston.

The happy go lucky Johnston, could well prove formidable on the Padgetts Honda that he recently took to third on the overall Lightweight qualifying time sheets, at the Ulster Grand Prix.

Photo by Rod Neill

Added marque names RS 250 Honda mounted include John Chapman Racing’s talented duo of David Johnson and Joe Thompson.

Both extremely capable of banking at minimum rostrum finishes, you can apply the same notion to class stalwarts Paul Owen (Team 98) and Davy Morgan.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Yamaha’s strong class challenge includes representation from Turner Racing’s Dan Cooper and Michael Sweeney. Cooper and Sweeney who both recently quietly impressed at Dundrod, have both over the years enjoyed multiple positive moments on two stroke steeds.

Most definitely additional contenders for podium placings, others you cannot discount from mixing it at the sharp end of the field include Sidecar TT great Dan Sayle, Dafabet Devitt Racing backed Chris Moore, 2015 Newcomers B Manx GP victor Gary Vines, Rhys Hardisty and rising International roads star Adam McLean (Binch Racing).

Further notable entrants include Immingham’s Craig Neve, Chris Swallow, Rikki McGovern, Ben Rea, John Barton, Mountain Course hero Dave Madsen Mygdal, Denmark’s Carsten Svendsen and Cornwall’s improving Forest Dunn.

Photo by Mark Corlett

In total over 55 riders are entered for the Dunlop Lightweight Classic TT, which is extremely encouraging news for two stroke fans and for aficionados of the iconic machines.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles