50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – Facts Round Up

50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – Facts Round Up

Wrap up of many an interesting fact, from the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Peter Hickman’s retention of his Macau GP crown on the Bathams SMT Racing S1000RR BMW, means that a BMW Motorrad mounted rider has won all but one international roads superbike race in 2016.

Martin Jessopp’s third place finish, took his total of international road race podium finishes this year, up to an impressive 5.

Final warm up sessions during

Photo by Charles Robertson

This years Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix, ended Ian Hutchinson’s record of finishing at least on the podium, in every race that he has finished this year at the international meetings.

Leading newcomer Derek Sheils in ninth place, was the only Suzuki mounted competitor, amongst the 26 starters for the 12 lap race.

Despite having to start in the pit lane due to earlier issues with the Mar Train Racing YZF R1M Yamaha, Dan Kneen still lead the Yamaha challenge, finishing a very creditable 11th.

during the final race of

Photo by Charles Robertson

Half of the top ten finishers, where competing on S1000RR BMW machinery, whilst the sole Kawasaki representative in the top 15 finishers, was Horst Saiger on his own teams Kwaka, finishing a fine fifth.

Last Sunday’s race, marked the final roads outing for the current CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade model.

Michael Rutter’s second place finish, makes it nine years in succession of recording at least a top three finish or better, around the streets of Macau.

Although he was in the end a non finishers, Glenn Irwin’s sparkling Macau GP debut, raised many an eye brow or two, competition at Macau was his first roads competition in over a year.

Marek Cerveny is only the second rider from the Czech Republic to have competed at Macau in the 2010’s, the two times IRRC Supersport champion, finished a more than respectable 17th.

Ten nations where represented on the grid, at the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Buell mounted Mark Miller 15th, was the only competitor from the USA to compete, back in 2000 the 2010 TT Zero winner, clinched a superb podium finish.

Still the last non British winner at the Macau Grand Prix, is Switzerland’s Andreas Hofmann, who was victorious in 1997.

BMW are now the joint most successful manufacturer thus far in the 2010’s at Macau, with two race wins, same as Kawasaki.

Peter Hickman is the first rider to retain the Macau Grand Prix, since Michael Rutter accomplished this feat from 2011 to 2012.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *