Road Racing News

TT 2015 – Facts Round Up

Multiple intriguing facts summarised the excitement, achievements and thrilling racing seen at TT 2015, Which included.

Ian Hutchinson been the only rider to finish on the podium in every race which he competed in superbike, supersport, superstock, senior races.


Photo by Louis Porter

First time since 2010 that Michael Dunlop has not won a race at TT Races.

18 riders have now lapped in the 130 mph bracket following the Pokerstars senior TT, newest 130 mph club members following TT 2015 are Lee Johnston, Peter Hickman, David Johnson, Dan Kneen.

Two TT newcomers cracked the 120 mph barrier, they where Derek Mcgee 122.838 mph, Tom McHale 121.463 mph.

There was only two new podium finishers at this years TT Races, they where Lee Johnston third place finisher in Royal London 360 superstock TT and TT zero races, Ivan Lintin lightweight TT winner.

Five riders have now lapped at over 132 mph around the mountain course. They are John McGuinness 132.701 mph, Michael Dunlop 132.515, James Hillier 132.414 mph, Guy Martin 132.398 mph, Bruce Anstey 132.298 mph.

Ian Hutchinson’s Royal London 360 superstock TT success was Kawasaki’s first superstock triumph at the Isle of Man TT since 2011, when Michael Dunlop secured race victory on Street Sweep backed ZX10R Kawasaki.

Following TT 2015 283 riders have now been victorious at the most iconic of all road races. The latest rider to taste victory is RC Express Racing’s Ivan Lintin following a memorable lightweight TT race win.

Guy Martin after third place finish in Monster Energy supersport TT race two now has 16 podium finishes at TT Races.

Ian Hutchinson following hat trick of wins at TT 2015 moves up to 11 TT wins in total, the same amount as Michael Dunlop.


Both Hutchy and Michael have now also the same amount of podium finishes, 20.

Since the lightweight TT was re incarnated in 2012 James Hillier’s record of finishing no lower than second continues following second place finish in 2015 lightweight TT.

James and Ivan Lintin where the only two riders to break the 120 mph barrier on super twins for the first time around the mountain course, following lap speeds of 120.848 mph, 120.845 mph.

In the Joey Dunlop championship 24 riders scored points as Ian Hutchinson secured his second success in the prestigious championship, having been victorious in 2010.

Ben Birchall/Tom Birchall are the first back to back winners of sidecar races at the Isle of Man TT since 2012, when Dave Molyneux/Patrick Farrance recorded back to back race wins.

Dan Cooper became the sixth different winner of the TT privateers championship following in the footsteps of James Mcbride, Ian Mackman, Dan Stewart, Lee Johnston, Ivan Lintin to have sealed victory in the well respected championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.