Road Racing News

Perfect Ten For Hutchy In Royal London 360 Superstock TT

2015 Royal London 360 superstock TT began in great conditions around the mountain course.

Lap 1 at Glen Helen saw Michael Dunlop hit the front by 1.175 seconds over Quattro Plant Kawasaki’s James Hillier with Ian Hutchinson holding third position on Paul Bird Motorsport ZX10R Kawasaki.

Dunlop extended his race lead to 1.481 seconds over Hillier by Ballaugh with Hutchinson in third 2.4 seconds off the race leader, Guy Martin 3.4 seconds back was showing strong form on superstock Tyco BMW.

By Ramsey Hairpin 11 times TT winner Michael Dunlop opened race lead up to 2.148 seconds, Ian Hutchinson moved into second place, James Hillier dropped to third whilst Guy Martin held fourth place, Lee Johnston completed the top five.

Bungalow was next timing point on the horizon for the leading bunch, Michael Dunlop’s advantage at the front was now 2.432 seconds over Ian Hutchinson, Guy Martin dropped into third place at the Bungalow as James Hillier went down to fourth position.


Photo by Rod Neill

At Cronk Ny Mona Dunlop’s advantage was down to 1.948 seconds as Hutchinson continued to show his sensational TT 2015 form, Martin still held third place in front of Hillier whilst Lee Johnston was showing strongly in fifth.

End of lap saw Michael Dunlop hold 1.6 seconds lead over Ian Hutchinson following a dazzling opening lap speed of 130.932 mph on his own teams S1000RR BMW.

Guy Martin held third position, James Hillier was fourth, Lee Johnston fifth, Peter Hickman on Briggs Equipment S1000RR BMW impressed hugely in rounding out the top six.

Onto lap two and the race lead was back up to the 1.9 second mark at Glen Helen whilst Guy Martin was starting to come under increasing pressure from East Coast Racing’s Lee Johnston just 1.3 seconds behind the Tyco BMW rider.

By Ballaugh it was clear that Ian Hutchinson was on a charge reducing the race lead to 1.006 seconds as he piled the pressure on Michael Dunlop.

Guy Martin maintained third place in front of Lee Johnston as James Hillier held fifth position.

Ramsey Hairpin would see the gap out front down to 0.848 seconds between Dunlop and Hutchinson. James Hillier moved up two places to third just 0.1 of a second in front of Guy Martin and only 0.3 of a second in front of Lee Johnston.

Bungalow saw Hutchinson reduce Dunlop’s advantage even further to 0.373, there was nothing in it between two of the world’s best pure road racers.

As they homed in on pit stops at Cronk Ny Mona Michael Dunlop re-opened an advantage at the front to 1.607 seconds over Ian Hutchinson, Guy Martin back into third was involved in an intriguing tussle for third position with James Hillier and Lee Johnston.

End of lap two as riders entered pit stop time saw Michael Dunlop’s hold an advantage of 1.986 seconds over Ian Hutchinson, Guy Martin was third, Lee Johnston moved up to fourth, James Hillier held fifth as Peter Hickman finalised the top six.

Following pit stops Ian Hutchinson went into race lead whilst there was drama for Guy Martin who endured a lengthy pit stop which cost him up to 22 seconds on the leading trio of Hutchinson and Dunlop.

Glen Helen beckoned on lap three and it was Ian Hutchinson who was at the front opening up 2.776 seconds gap over Michael Dunlop, James Hillier moved back up to third, Lee Johnston was fourth, Peter Hickman an excellent fifth and David Johnson held sixth position.

Only change in race order within the top six at Ballaugh was for sixth position as Guy Martin moved in front of Smiths Racing’s David Johnson, Ian Hutchinson’s race lead at Ballaugh was up to now 4.833 seconds.

The gap out front grew by Ramsey Hairpin to 6.439 seconds, James Hillier continued to hold third place but was under pressure from Lee Johnston in fourth.

Through the Bungalow and Cronk Ny Mona Hutchinson’s race lead stretched to 9.270 seconds, the Paul Bird Motorsport rider was proving once again his outstanding quality around the mountain course.

End of lap three saw positions as follows, Ian Hutchinson in first place by 9.380 seconds over Michael Dunlop in second, James Hillier held third position, Lee Johnston fourth, Peter Hickman a fine fifth and David Johnson a very creditable sixth.

Onto the final lap and could Michael Dunlop present a challenge to Ian Hutchinson chalking up his tenth TT victory.
With a race lead of 9.639 seconds at Glen Helen it was clear that Hutchy was homing in on his second race win during TT 2015.

By Ramsey Hairpin on lap four the race lead was now a very comfortable 17.080 seconds for Ian Hutchinson, Michael Dunlop in second was still battling away as the battle for third was very much on between James Hillier and Lee Johnston.

Bungalow would see no position changes within the top six, at Cronk Ny Mona with a 19 seconds advantage over Michael Dunlop, Ian Hutchinson was closing in another remarkable TT victory.

He crossed the line at the end of lap four to secure his tenth TT victory and his second race win at this year’s Isle of Man TT.


Michael Dunlop finished a superb second as he battled the pain barrier showing true grit and determination.
Completing the podium finishers following a fantastic final lap was East Coast Racing’s Lee Johnston.

It’s Lee’s first TT Races podium finish, third position for Lee was secured by 0.270 of a second over fourth place finisher James Hillier.


Peter Hickman finished a fantastic fifth as he recorded his new personal best result at TT Races, plus during the four lap race Hicky lapped close to the 130 mph bracket as he proved again why he is considered by many a TT winner in the making.

Rounding out the top six finishers was David Johnson piloting Smiths Racing S1000RR BMW.

Davo produced a highly accomplished display as did Tyco BMW’s Guy Martin who finished in seventh position.

Honda’s challenge was lead by John McGuinness piloting his own teams CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade to eighth place finish.

Top ten finishers where finalised by Isle of Man TT lap record holder Bruce Anstey and Jackson Racing’s Conor Cummins.

Further notable results included Dean Harrison enjoying a strong ride to 13th on Mar Train Racing’s R1M Yamaha.

Ivan Lintin secured highly creditable 14th place finish, Dan Cooper was a more than creditable 15th, Martin Jessopp finished a personal best 17th as James Neesom enjoyed a strong ride to 36th place finish.


Another highly compelling race at TT 2015 and one that brought Ian Hutchinson his tenth Isle of Man TT victory.

The Bingley bullet showcased again today his speed, talent, pace, ability, bravery and determination in what was a race record setting performance from the now 19 times international road race winner.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.