Remarkable Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1 Victory For Ian Hutchinson

Remarkable Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1 Victory For Ian Hutchinson

Opening Monster Energy supersport TT race began in near perfect conditions around the mountain course.

First timing point at Glen Helen saw two times TT winner Gary Johnson competing on Mar Train Racing YZF R6 Yamaha slot into race lead by 2 seconds over his Mar Train Racing team mate Dean Harrison whilst Ian Hutchinson held third position.

At Ballaugh Johnson maintained race lead by 2.536 seconds over Ian Hutchinson who moved into second place whilst Dean Harrison, Bruce Anstey, James Hillier where all in close proximity in holding third, fourth, fifth positions.

Ramsey Hairpin would see Gary Johnson’s race lead down to 2.463 seconds as Ian Hutchinson on Team Traction Control YZF R6 Yamaha began to up his pace as Dean Harrison held onto third place in front of Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Motorcycles Bruce Anstey.

By the Bungalow the race lead was down to 0.280 of a second as Hutchinson was showing why he is considered by many the in form rider in international road racing. Bruce Anstey moved into third just 2.7 seconds off race lead as Dean Harrison dropped back to fourth in front of fifth placed James Hillier.

Cronk Ny Mona would see Ian Hutchinson move into race lead by 0.345 over Gary Johnson with Bruce Anstey not far behind in third, Dean Harrison remained in fourth in front of 675 Daytona Triumph mounted Lee Johnston.

End of opening lap saw Ian Hutchinson hold a 0.778 advantage over Gary Johnson with Bruce Anstey in third just 1.5 seconds back, 2.3 seconds covered the top three at end of lap one.

Lap two began with Hutchinson upping his advantage out front to 2.171 seconds over Bruce Anstey who moved into second place as Gary Johnson now held third.

Dean Harrison retired at Crosby crosswords, this meant that Lee Johnston moved into fourth position just in front of Guy Martin.

Positions within the leading trio remained the same at Ballaugh although Guy Martin moved into fourth place in front of Lee Johnston as Quattro Plant Kawasaki’s James Hillier completed the top six.

By Ramsey Hairpin Ian Hutchinson’s lead was up to 3.458 seconds over Bruce Anstey as he began to gradually pull away from the ten times TT winner.

Through the Bungalow Hutchinson’s race lead increased to over 3.5 seconds, Gary Johnson moved into second place 0.004 of a second in front of Bruce Anstey as Guy Martin remained a highly creditable fourth.

At Cronk Ny Mona Anstey was back into second place but 3.531 seconds down on race leader Hutchinson, Johnson now third was 3.7 seconds back on the 2010 senior TT race winner.

End of lap two saw Anstey get the gap down out front to 2.494 seconds, Johnson in third was two seconds behind Anstey as Martin, Johnston and Hillier finalised the top six.


After pit stops on lap two Ian Hutchinson’s advantage at the front of the race was up to over six seconds.

His lead grew by Glen Helen on lap three to 6.667 seconds over Anstey with Johnson 0.7 behind the Isle of Man TT lap record holder.

By Ramsey Hairpin the race lead was 7.254 seconds, Gary Johnson remained in third but fourth position changed following pit stops as Guy Martin gained a thirty second time penalty.

Lee Johnston was now into fourth with Martin on the Smiths Racing 675 Daytona Triumph dropping to fifth.

Although race lead was down to 6.417 seconds at Cronk Ny Mona Ian Hutchinson was still in command of what was turning out to be one of the most memorable supersport TT races in the 2010’s.

End of lap three saw Hutchinson hold 6.011 advantage over Anstey with Johnson 7.4 further back in third, Lee Johnston was fourth, Guy Martin fifth, James Hillier sixth.

Onto the final lap and Hutchinson’s race lead was down to 5.148 seconds at Glen Helen. At Ballaugh though the advantage was back up to 7.422 seconds as the Team Traction Control rider began to take full control.

Through Ramsey Hairpin and the Bungalow the lead stretched to 9.031 seconds, the rider who made his Manx Grand Prix debut back in 2003 was homing in on his ninth TT victory.

Although the gap out front was reduced to 8.838 seconds at Cronk Ny Mona Ian Hutchinson wasn’t far away from clinching a remarkable race victory.


He crossed the line at the conclusion of lap four to secure a quite remarkable TT victory. After all the trials and tribulations of the last five years Hutchy is back on top at the most iconic of all road races.

Bruce Anstey finished 7.723 seconds back in second position as the road racing legend produced another top draw performance around the mountain course.


Sealing third place finish was Mar Train Racing’s Gary Johnson who showed his world class quality as he provided Mar Train Racing with their first podium finish at TT Races.


Lee Johnston secured personal best TT finish of fourth position on East Coast Racing 675 Daytona Triumph. The three time international road race winner is well and truly established now as one of the world leading pure road racers.

Guy Martin on the Smiths Racing 675 Daytona Triumph was a solid fifth, James Hillier rounded out the top six following a highly accomplished display on Quattro Plant backed ZX6R Kawasaki.

Jackson Racing’s John McGuinness and Conor Cummins chalked up seventh and eighth place finishes as Dan Kneen, Michael Rutter finalised the top ten.

David Johnson finished a highly creditable 11th whilst Ivan Lintin impressed on the RC Express Racing ZX6R Kawasaki finishing in 12th position.

Cameron Donald was 13th, Dan Cooper 14th, Jamie Hamilton 15th as Jamie Coward produced an impressive performance on Barnes Racing R6 Yamaha finishing an excellent 17th.

2014 Duke road race rankings champion James Cowton finished 18th in a race which will remembered for a long long long time as the race that saw Ian Hutchinson secure a quite amazing Monster Energy supersport TT victory.


After all that’s happened to Ian over the last five years this race victory is made all the more remarkable.

It caps one of the all time great comebacks not only in motorsport but also in general in sport. Ian Hutchinson is an inspiration to everyone participating in any sport worldwide.

His triumph over a career threatening leg injury is proof of the saying never give up, after the race it was clear of how much the race win meant to him.

Everyone around the grandstand and in the paddock was delighted for the rider who also provided Team Traction Control with their first TT victory.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *