Road Racing News

Faugheen 50 – Preview

Located in the south of Tipperary, the 2.3 miles long roads of Faugheen, has to be considered amongst pure road racing’s great survivors.

Originally first run in 1970, it quickly established itself as one of Irish road racing’s jewels in the crown, from the late 70’s through to the mid 80’s.

When racing stopped at Faugheen in 1986, it was not till the early 2000’s when the event returned to roads calendar, thanks to tireless efforts of the Faugheen 50 Road Racing Club Ltd.

In recent times, one of the teams to enjoy sustained success at the popular meet, has been John Burrows, Cookstown BE Racing outfit.

Enjoying an immensely successful 2017 roads campaign with Derek Sheils, the reigning Irish road race Superbike champion starts for many a strong favourite for Open/Grand Final honours this weekend.

Photo by Baylon McCaughey

Same applies to 2016 Grand Final winner Derek McGee. Hitting a rich vein of form, the “Mullingar Missile” has the machinery, the pace and circuit knowledge to enjoy a quite prodigious meeting.

Photo by Rod Neill

Outside of the two Derek’s, Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney has quietly been going under the radar at recent events, chalking up series of top class results.

Whilst he might not be considered by some a potential premier class winner this weekend, discount him at your peril, given his proven front running capabilities.

Added ones to watch include Senior Support/Junior Support pace setter Joe Loughlin, who has impressed many with his speed this year at the national meetings.

Plus Paul Jordan, who in particular will be confident of challenging for Supersport honours, on the Evolution Camping backed YZF R6 Yamaha.

Roads stalwart Davy Morgan makes a welcome return to Faugheen, whilst fellow experienced riders Andy Farrell and Seamus Elliott are hugely capable of securing standout results.

Additional notable entrants include Brian McCormack, Darryl Tweed, Sam Dunlop, Michael Browne, Oisin Watson, Gary Dunlop, Damian Horan and rising Manx GP star Sean Connolly.

Whilst the Classic races entry is lead by the likes of Barry Davidson, Sean Leonard, Richard Ford, Philip Shaw, Freddie Stewart, Trevor Rufus, Brian Mateer and Robert McCrum.

In total 11 races, are scheduled on Sunday at the 2017 Faugheen 50 Road Races, beginning with the Open race, which has for the last two years been won by Derek Sheils.

Words by Stevie Rial