Famous TT Marques: Yamaha

Famous TT Marques: Yamaha

Next to feature in Road Racing News Famous TT Marques series is one of the ‘Big Four’ two wheel manufacturers from Japan, Yamaha.

Celebrating today 65 years since it first began creating motorcycles, Yamaha originally in 1887 began as a piano, organ manufacturer.

Since bursting onto the TT scene in the early 1960’s, Yamaha has gone onto establish a Mountain Racing CV perhaps only bettered by Honda.

Over 200 times TT winners, they stand first in terms of all time podium finishes (782), race finishes (9,973).

Amongst countless star names to establish themselves as Yamaha TT legends include eight times World Champion Phil Read MBE, Bill Ivy, Tony Rutter, Brian Reid, David Jefferies.

Charlie Williams who claimed all eight of his TT victories on Yamaha machinery, Phil Mellor, Geoff Johnson, Iain Duffus, Jim Moodie, Steve Hislop and three wheeling greats such as Jock Taylor/Benga Johannson, Dick Greasley/Gordon Russell, Mick Boddice/Chas Birks and Dave Molyneux/Colin Hardman.

Yamaha’s first Senior TT success arose in 1974 with Phil Carpenter whilst the legend that is Joey Dunlop secured his first TT triumph on the Rea Racing Yamaha in the 1977 Jubilee TT.

21 century highlights thus far for Yamaha have included the David Jefferies/V&M Yamaha partnership, three big bike successes with John McGuinness, four successive Supersport race wins with Ian Hutchinson & Team Traction Control.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Michael Dunlop’s opening TT victory in 2009 and Jamie Coward becoming the fastest Yamaha racer in TT history at TT 2019, lapping at 130.317 mph during the showpiece, blue riband Dunlop Senior race.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles