Classic TT Races – Long Awaited Success For John McGuinness And Team Winfield

Classic TT Races – Long Awaited Success For John McGuinness And Team Winfield

The 2016 Senior Classic TT began with virtually ideal conditions around the Mountain Course for the four lap race, which many predicted would be a race of attrition.

From Glen Helen on the opening lap, the battle for race victory would be between John McGuinness on the Team Winfield 500 Paton and Dean Harrison on the Black Eagle Racing 500 MV Agusta.

At the end of the opening lap, it was Dean Harrison who battled his way to the front of the field, leading John McGuinness by just 0.366 of a second, with both riders under the existing lap record for 500 machinery on the Mountain Course.

Early retirements included Team Winfield’s Conor Cummins at Quarry Bends, Ian Lougher and TT privateers champion Dan Hegarty, on the D&M Engineering 500 Honda.

Lap two saw the battle for race lead between Harrison and McGuinness intensify. Harrison’s lead out front grew to 0.962 at Glen Helen, was reduced to 0.938 at Ballaugh Bridge, then increased at Ramsey Hairpin to 1.147 seconds.

By the Bungalow his lead was down to 0.442 of a second, then reduced further to 0.378 of a second at Cronk Ny Mona.

At the end of lap two, Harrison elected to go into the pits, for his scheduled pit stop, whilst McGuinness now into race lead by five seconds, following a new class lap record of 113.342 mph, went straight through onto his third lap.

This made a significant difference for his advantage at the front, which grew to in excess of 50 seconds following Harrison’s pit stop.

Maria Costello MBE was holding third place, whilst Michael Rutter battling with Alan Oversby for fourth place, retired at the pits.

Lap three saw John McGuinness now firmly increased race lead, grow and grow, as he showed more highly accomplished form on the Team Winfield Paton.

Dean Harrison in second place, was giving it everything in his pursuit of the 23 times TT winner, who’s advantage out front at the end of lap three was 1 minute 03.840 seconds.

After his pit stop McGuinness remained firmly in command in the race, now with a 29 seconds advantage, as he headed onto the fourth and final lap.

Maria Costello MBE who went down onto fourth on lap three with Alan Oversby going straight through onto his third lap, was back up to third with Oversby following his pit stop, now down to fifth behind Jamie Coward on the Ted Woof backed Norton.


Photo by Louis Porter

The final lap of the race, would see John McGuinness keep up a solid, consistent pace with the Team Winfield Paton.

Although his lead out front was reduced to under 25 seconds, by Cronk Ny Mona, the seven times Senior TT winner, was within closing distance of claiming his Classic TT success.

He crossed the line to take a popular victory by 21.438 seconds, as he added Senior Classic TT victory, to his already momentous pure road racing record.


Photo by Louis Porter

Dean Harrison, second place finisher, was happy with the runner up spot, whilst Maria Costello MBE third, was absolutely delighted to finish on the podium.


Photo by Nick Wheeler

Jamie Coward finished a fine fourth on the Ted Woof backed Norton, Alan Oversby lead the Davies Motorsport in fifth as Dominic Herbertson sixth, finished the leading privateer, a great accomplishment for the rising roads star.

Completing the top ten where Danny Webb, Bill Swallow, Olie Linsdell and Egli Vincent mounted Horst Saiger.

Additional stand out performances included Hefyn Owen 11th, Dave Matravers 15th, Lancelot Unissart 19th and Alan Bud Jackson in 20th place.

Overall a top quality four lap Senior Classic TT, which brought a long awaited first Classic TT victory for John McGuinness.

Senior Classic TT – Race Results:

1 John McGuinness
2 Dean Harrison
3 Maria Costello MBE
4 Jamie Coward
5 Alan Oversby
6 Dominic Herbertson
7 Danny Webb
8 Bill Swallow
9 Olie Linsdell
10 Horst Saiger
11 Hefyn Owen
12 Nick Jefferies
13 Bob Owen
14 Phil McGurk
15 Dave Matravers
16 Cameron Donald
17 John Leigh Pemberton
18 Meredydd Owen
19 Lancelot Unissart
20 Alan Bud Jackson
21 Mick Moreton
22 Richard Lambourne
23 Edward Poole
24 Andy Lee
25 David Hastings
26 Brian Cooper
27 Colin Stockdale
28 Geoff Bates
29 Ian Bainbridge
30 Tony Tuttle
31 Jeff Smith
32 Arthur Jones
33 Phil Woodall
34 Roy Phipps
35 Jimmy Creer
36 Jan Koning
37 Gary Hutton

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *