Wanganui – Superbike/Supersport Wrap Up

Wanganui – Superbike/Supersport Wrap Up


Tony Rees underlined his status as a legend around the Cemetery Circuit, with back to back Superbike victories, which propelled him to overall Suzuki Tri Series victory.

A truly great achievement, for the 49 year old, who for over 25 years and more, has been amongst New Zealand’s leading pure road racers.

Leading the challenge to the seven times feature race winner at Wanganui, in the opening Superbike race, was fifth place finisher in the 50th Macau Motorcycle GP Horst Saiger.

Daniel Mettam finished an excellent third, whilst Scott Moir, Toby Summers and Jayden Carrick all impressed in finishing fourth, fifth and sixth.

The second Superbike encounter, saw Scott Moir push Tony Rees all the way, during a gripping eight lap race, which saw just 4.316 seconds, covering the first six finishers.

Rees and Moir where covered by just over half a second, at the end of the eighth and final lap, as Sloan Frost battled his way to third place, in front of Mettam, Summers and Saiger.

TT Races lap record holder Michael Dunlop competing under the Suzuki New Zealand banner, was a non finisher in both of the eight lap races.


Photo by Craig Dawson

Wanganui – Superbike Race 1 Results:

1 Tony Rees
2 Horst Saiger
3 Daniel Mettam
4 Scott Moir
5 Toby Summers
6 Jayden Carrick
7 Ray Clee
8 Jamie Maindonald
9 Sloan Frost
10 Mitch Rees
11 Mark Perry
12 Jason Bardell
13 Ryan O’Neill
14 Malcolm Bielski
15 Rob Whittall
16 Ben Rosendaal
17 Jason Lamb

Wanganui – Superbike Race 2 Results:

1 Tony Rees
2 Scott Moir
3 Sloan Frost
4 Daniel Mettam
5 Toby Summers
6 Horst Saiger
7 Jayden Carrick
8 Mitch Rees
9 Jamie Maindonald
10 Ryan O’Neill
11 Jason Bardell
12 Mark Perry
13 Malcolm Bielski
14 Dwayne Bishop
15 Rob Whittall
16 Ray Clee
17 Jason Lamb
18 Ben Rosendaal


As anticipated the Supersport races at Wanganui, proved close and hard fought.

The opening Supersport encounter saw Shane Richardson hold off the challenges of Jay Lawrence and Damon Rees, with just 0.802 covering the first three finishers.

Such was the pace of the leading trio, David Hall was almost eight seconds back in fourth place, as Sam Willacy and Nathanael Diprose finalised the top six.

It was all change between the leading contenders, in Supersport race two, with Jay Lawrence powering his way to victory, on his GSX-R 600 Suzuki mount.

Race 1 winner Shane Richardson, was 0.502 behind in second place, whilst Damon Rees third, wrapped up the Formula 2 Suzuki Tri Series championship.

David Hall sealed another very creditable fourth place finish, Rogan Chandler and Sam Willacy both enjoyed productive races, as they sealed the final spots, within the first six finishers.

Wanganui – Supersport Race 1 Results:

1 Shane Richardson
2 Jay Lawrence
3 Damon Rees
4 David Hall
5 Sam Willacy
6 Nathanael Diprose
7 Rogan Chandler
8 Rex Mincher
9 Royd Walker Holt
10 Zurrin Wiki
11 Hamish Tarr
12 Mark Bennett
13 Ian Reed
14 Phillip Munt
15 Michael Lee
16 Graeme Turner
17 Bruce Dowie
18 Jono Gibson
19 Esmond Williams

Wanganui – Supersport Race 2 Results:

1 Jay Lawrence
2 Shane Richardson
3 Damon Rees
4 David Hall
5 Rogan Chandler
6 Sam Willacy
7 Nathanael Diprose
8 Royd Walker Holt
9 Rex Mincher
10 Zurrin Wiki
11 Mark Bennett
12 Michael Lee
13 Graeme Turner
14 Ian Reed
15 Phillip Munt
16 Jono Gibson
17 Esmond Williams

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *