Wanganui Road Races – Preview

Wanganui Road Races – Preview

The popular Wanganui Road Races surges into action on boxing day, the 26th of December.

Stand out entries for the Robert Holden memorial feature race, include 2014 winner Tony Rees. Tony is set to be amongst the leading Honda runners, as he aims for a sixth feature race victory around the streets of Wanganui.

Who will win. Horst Saiger & Sloan Frost are equal on points in F1 Superbike. 1m TerryStevensonFoto 158

Photo by Terry Stevenson

Wanganui lap record holder Horst Saiger, starts for many as the pre race favourite. Piloting Red Devils Racing ZX10R Kawasaki, Horst has the proven pure road racing craft to secure race victory.

Main highlights on the roads in 2015 for Horst, have included been leading newcomer to the Ulster Grand Prix, series of wins at the Horice Road Races and highly creditable thirteenth place finish in the formula 1 classic TT.

Further contenders for feature race success include GSX-R 1000 Suzuki mounted Sloan Frost and Scott Moir.

Jayden Carrick and Toby Summers also cannot be discounted from been in contention for a top three finish.


Junior Manx Grand Prix winner Billy Redmayne, amongst the Isle of Man’s leading pure road racers, adds a touch of star quality to the supersport races line up, Billy is all set for action on the Biggles Racing ZX6R Kawasaki.

Ninth place finisher in the 2014 Macau Grand Prix, Roman Stamm makes his Wanganui debut, he’s tipped to gel quickly with the hugely popular road race circuit.

Thomas Wendel, Adam Chambers, Damon Rees and Shane Richardson all add quality to the entry.


Whilst sidecar entry list, has a touch of class in it, as 2013 sidecar TT race 1 winner Tim Reeves makes his debut on the Cemetery circuit, Tim is joined in the E-Aide motorsport/Team AOS outfit by Robbie Shorter.

Aaron Lovell/Tracey Bryan and Adam Unsworth/Stu Dawe are amongst the duo’s aiming to claim the scalp of a TT and Southern 100 winner.

Multiple top class pure road racers have been victorious around Wanganui, they include Dave Hiscock, Pat Hennen, Robert Holden and 31 times international road race winner Bruce Anstey.

Tony Rees leads Scott Moir in the 2014 F1 Superbike race 2. 1m TStevensonPic 381

Photo by Terry Stevenson

So who will be victorious on boxing day? all eyes are on Horst Saiger, as he bids for his first victory at the meeting which celebrates this year 64 of years of compelling, exciting and thrilling competition.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *