Vauxhall International North West 200 – Superstock Wizardry From Alastair Seeley

Vauxhall International North West 200 – Superstock Wizardry From Alastair Seeley

Alastair Seeley worked his proven magic around the Triangle, to record an 18th win at the North West 200, plus equalled Philip McCallen’s podium finishing tally of 28 rostrum finishes, via a record breaking Superstock victory.

When nearest challenger Michael Rutter (Bathams SMT Racing) retired on lap three, the “Wee Wizard” was able to open up a substantial advantage out front.

Photo by Rod Neill

His race lead, grew and grew, in particular helped by a stunning new Superstock lap record on lap 4, lapping at 4 minutes 22.755 seconds on the stock Tyco BMW.

At the end of the six lap race, his advantage stood at in excess of 12 seconds, a sign of just how dominant he had been, from the mid part of the race.

Alongside it been an 18th success on the coast roads, it also marked TAS Racing’s 25th North West 200 victory, a unique achievement for Philip & Hector Neill’s outfit.

Lee Johnston (East Coast Racing) was delighted with his second place finish, similar jubilation was felt by third place finisher Dean Harrison, who wrapped up his and Silicone Engineering Racing’s first podium finish at Northern Ireland’s biggest sporting event.

Photo by Rod Neill

Now former lap record holder thanks to his Tyco BMW team mates heroic’s, Ian Hutchinson had a relatively low key race, as he battled to fourth in front of Supersport race 1 winner, Martin Jessopp.

The top six was completed by JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s James Hillier, whilst the Suzuki challenge was lead by Cookstown BE Racing’s Derek Sheils.

William Dunlop eighth, provided a Yamaha presence within the higher echelons of the race, as Dan Cooper and Sam West (PRL Racing) both enjoyed extremely fruitful races in finishing ninth and tenth.

IRRC stars Jochem Van Den Hoek 11th, Marek Cerveny 12th, provided two standout performances, whilst others to impress included Petr Biciste 14th, Dan Stewart on his North West return finishing 17th and Phil Crowe in 19th place.

Notable non finishers included Michael Dunlop (MD Racing Suzuki), Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW), Dan Kneen, Horst Saiger and Steve Mercer who not happy with the Mathers Cross Chicane, due to problems at not been able to see the first apex, due to dust.

Cause of this issue, many riders ran straight on, during the opening lap. We all know why chicanes have been placed around the North West 200, but in my opinion perhaps one’s such as the Mathers Cross Chicane, need reassessing.

Vauxhall International North West 200 – Superstock Race 1 Results:

1 Alastair Seeley
2 Lee Johnston
3 Dean Harrison
4 Ian Hutchinson
5 Martin Jessopp
6 James Hillier
7 Derek Sheils
8 William Dunlop
9 Dan Cooper
10 Sam West
11 Jochem Van Den Hoek
12 Marek Cerveny
13 Ivan Lintin
14 Petr Biciste
15 Horst Saiger
16 Dan Hegarty
17 Dan Stewart
18 Jamie Coward
19 Phil Crowe
20 Daley Mathison
21 Matt Rees
22 Bruce Birnie
23 Raul Torras
24 Craig Neve
25 Tom Weeden
26 Barry Furber
27 Dominic Herbertson
28 Kris Duncan
29 Donald MacFadyen
30 Mark Goodings
31 Johan Fredriks
32 Chris Green
33 Forest Dunn
34 Dave Madsen Mygdal
35 Toni Rechberger

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles