Vauxhall International North West 200 – Martin Jessopp Wins Enthralling Super Twins Encounter

Vauxhall International North West 200 – Martin Jessopp Wins Enthralling Super Twins Encounter

Martin Jessopp held off a determined Michael Rutter in an enthralling Super Twins race, to record his second victory in three races this evening, at the Vauxhall International North West 200.

Along the way, setting a sparkling new lap record of 4 minutes 52.438 seconds, the Riders Motorcycles backed rider, produced as in the opening Supersport race, a textbook, world class display around the famous coast roads.

Photo by Rod Neill

Second placed Michael Rutter, give it everything on the KMR Kawasaki twin, briefly breaking the lap record, as he pushed his former team mate all the way.

The gap at the end of the fourth and final lap between the riders who have now between them 15 North West 200 victories, stood at 0.848 of a second.

Photo by Rod Neill

Despite making a slow start, Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Ivan Lintin sealed the final spot on the podium, showcasing again why he is regarded amongst the leading Super Twin specialists within the pure roads scene.

Dan Cooper (KW Electrical Services Kawasaki) was a very creditable fourth, in front of reigning Irish road race Superbike champion Derek Sheils, who like Dan wrapped up a personal best result at the North West 200.

Rounding out the top six finishers was rising roads star Adam McLean, who finished in front of many a famous name, including McAdoo Kawasaki’s James Cowton and former 250 winner Christian Elkin.

Site Sealants B&W Racing’s Paul Jordan finished ninth, the top ten was concluded by Marty Lennon.

Shirlaws Motorcycles backed Kris Duncan was a respectable 11th, whilst the leading newcomer honour, went the way of American Matt Sadowski in 14th place.

Vauxhall International North West 200 – Super Twins Race 1 Results:

1 Martin Jessopp
2 Michael Rutter
3 Ivan Lintin
4 Dan Cooper
5 Derek Sheils
6 Adam McLean
7 James Cowton
8 Christian Elkin
9 Paul Jordan
10 Marty Lennon
11 Kris Duncan
12 Victor Lopez Santos
13 Darren James
14 Matt Sadowski
15 Barry Furber
16 Paul Gartland
17 Bruce Birnie
18 Sam Johnson
19 Dave Madsen Mygdal
20 Antonio Maeso
21 Lee Bass
22 Mark Shields

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles