Vauxhall International North West 200 – First Practice Round Up

Vauxhall International North West 200 – First Practice Round Up

With ideal conditions around the Triangle, the opening practice sessions of the 2016 Vauxhall International North West 200, saw many an impressive lap speed from many of pure road racing’s leading lights.


Alastair Seeley dominated supersport practice, as he showed formidable form on Gearlink Kawasaki’s proven 600.

Lapping at 116.412 mph the 15 times North West 200 winner, finished almost four seconds quicker, than his nearest challenger, Ian Hutchinson on the Came BPT Yamaha.

Martin Jessopp, Riders Motorcycles 675 Daytona Triumph, impressed in finishing third fastest, the three time Macau Grand Prix runner up, not regarded as a supersport specialist between the hedges, was in my opinion the biggest surprise from practice.

Lee Johnston going through the pain barrier, was fourth fastest, General Lee starts as one of the pre supersport race favourites, on East Coast Racing’s 675 Daytona Triumph.

The top six in practice was rounded out by John McGuinness and the Jackson Racing CBR 600 Honda, plus Dean Harrison a dark horse for podium honours with Silicone Engineering Racing’s ZX6R Kawasaki.

Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop now piloting his own teams YZF R6 Yamaha and James Hillier completed the top ten pace setters.

Jeremy McWilliams was instantly competitive on the Mar Train Racing YZF R6 Yamaha, finishing a highly creditable eleventh fastest.

Supersport Practice Results:

1 Alastair Seeley
2 Ian Hutchinson
3 Martin Jessopp
4 Lee Johnston
5 John McGuinness
6 Dean Harrison
7 Michael Dunlop
8 Bruce Anstey
9 William Dunlop
10 James Hillier
11 Jeremy McWilliams
12 Michael Rutter
13 Paul Jordan
14 Ben Wilson
15 Malachi Mitchell Thomas
16 Peter Hickman
17 Horst Saiger
18 Ivan Lintin
19 Conor Cummins
20 Marek Cerveny

Super Twins:

Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles ER6 Kawasaki, edged out reigning lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin, to finish fastest, by just 0.046 of a second, following lap speed of 107.348 mph.

Seven times Duke Road Race Rankings champion Ryan Farquhar was third quickest, 2013 lightweight TT winner James Hillier was next up.

Rising star Paul Jordan, produced one of the stand out performances in practice, to finish fifth fastest on B&W Racing’s ER6 Kawasaki.

Jeremy McWilliams finalised the top six in practice, as Peter Hickman gelled quickly with the Cookstown BE Racing ER6 Kawasaki, to finish seventh quickest.

Dan Cooper was eighth fastest, North West 200 newcomer Danny Webb impressed hugely in finishing ninth fastest, the top ten was concluded by fellow Triangle newcomer and one to watch Adam McLean.

Super Twins Practice Results:

1 Martin Jessopp
2 Ivan Lintin
3 Ryan Farquhar
4 James Hillier
5 Paul Jordan
6 Jeremy McWilliams
7 Peter Hickman
8 Dan Cooper
9 Danny Webb
10 Adam McLean
11 James Cowton
12 Christian Elkin
13 Michael Sweeney
14 Maria Costello MBE
15 Xavier Denis
16 Marty Lennon
17 Darren James
18 Dave Madsen Mygdal
19 Kris Duncan
20 Callum Laidlaw


Michael Rutter unofficially broke the superstock lap record at the North West 200 today, following lap speed of 121.847 mph on the Bathams SMT Racing S1000RR BMW.

Alastair Seeley, Lee Hardy Racing S1000RR BMW, second quickest, was also not far off the existing lap record.


Photo by Rod Neill

Ian Hutchinson completed a productive day of practice around the Triangle, by finishing third fastest.

Michael Dunlop on provisional pole for the superbike races, finished fourth in practice, on his own teams S1000RR BMW.

Places 5, 6 and 7 on the leader board where also acquired by BMW Motorrad mounted riders, Lee Johnston fifth, Martin Jessopp sixth and Gary Johnson seventh.

Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison lead the Kawasaki challenge in eighth, as Horst Saiger and William Dunlop, wrapped up the top ten in practice.

Superstock Practice Results:

1 Michael Rutter
2 Alastair Seeley
3 Ian Hutchinson
4 Michael Dunlop
5 Lee Johnston
6 Martin Jessopp
7 Gary Johnson
8 Dean Harrison
9 Horst Saiger
10 William Dunlop
11 Bruce Anstey
12 Ryan Farquhar
13 James Hillier
14 Jeremy McWilliams
15 Ivan Lintin
16 Didier Grams
17 David Johnson
18 Michael Sweeney
19 Dan Cooper
20 Sam West

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *