TT 2019: Fourth TT Success For Hickman, Triumph’s First Supersport Victory Since 2014

TT 2019: Fourth TT Success For Hickman, Triumph’s First Supersport Victory Since 2014

10 minutes behind schedule the second Monster Energy Supersport race of TT 2019, broke cover, with Milenco by Padgetts Conor Cummins again the first to make the ultra rapid trip down to Bray Hill and beyond.

Lap 1:

Not known for his fast starts to TT affiliated races, it was Peter Hickman who squeezed into a tiny race lead at Glen Helen of 0.061 of a second over James Hillier, with Dean Harrison just a further 0.354 behind.

It was all change out front at Ballaugh Bridge, as Silicone Engineering Racing’s Harrison grabbed the race lead, with Hillier maintaining second. Hickman dropped back to third as just over 0.6 of a second covered the top three.

Soon it was all change again amongst the leading trio, with Hickman moving back into the race lead, heading Harrison by 0.038 of a second.

By the time Hickman reached the Bungalow, the race lead stood at an extended margin of 1.79 seconds. Harrison in second was now only 0.9 clear of Hillier, whilst local hero, fourth placed Cummins maintained close proximity in the battle for the podium placings.

Come the completion of lap 1, Hickman’s modest race lead stood at 2.3 seconds over Harrison, Hillier third was a further 0.9 behind.

Cummins remained fourth as PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward and RAF Regular & Reserves supported Gary Johnson finalised the top six.

Lap 2:

In a determined frame of mind, Harrison who passed Cummins to lead the race on the road, was also on the timing screens back into the race lead, leading Hickman at Glen Helen by only half a second, another scintillating last lap battle between Harrison and Hickman was very much on the horizon!

Another race leadership change arose at Ballaugh Bridge, with Hickman reclaiming the advantage, leading Harrison by just over three tenths of a second.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Hillier in third place, was now four seconds behind the two quickest Mountain Course competitors, who were treating the large crowd on Manx shores today, to a truly gripping battle for class honours.

It was nip and tuck at Ramsey Hairpin, with virtually nothing separating Harrison and Hickman, but by the Bungalow Hickman’s prowess on the Mountain section of the TT course, began to bare fruit, with the race lead growing to almost one second.

Proving again why he is regarded by many as the world’s leading International Road Racer, Peter Hickman crossed the line at the end of the second and last lap, to emerge victorious by 3.3 seconds over Ulster GP, Oliver’s Mount lap record holder Harrison.

Hickman’s race victory, takes his total of TT wins to four, it’s also his first Supersport TT success and Triumph’s first TT victory since 2014.

Rounding out the rostrum finishers behind Hickman and Harrison, was the ever consistent, dependable, reliable, Quattro Plant Wicked Coatings Kawasaki lead rider James Hillier.

Conor Cummins finished fourth, whilst Jamie Coward secured a new personal best TT finish, finishing an excellent fifth in front of 18 times TT winner Michael Dunlop.

Placing’s 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th were clinched respectively by Davey Todd, Gary Johnson, Monster Energy Supersport race 1 victor Lee Johnston and Honda Racing’s David Johnson.

Others to impress outside the top ten included Paul Jordan (11th), Sam West (13th), Davies Motorsport’s Dominic Herbertson (14th), Michael Browne (18th), James Chawke (20th) and Joe Akroyd (22nd).

Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 2 result, is as follows:

1 Peter Hickman
2 Dean Harrison
3 James Hillier
4 Conor Cummins
5 Jamie Coward
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Davey Todd
8 Gary Johnson
9 Lee Johnston
10 David Johnson
11 Paul Jordan
12 Derek Sheils
13 Sam West
14 Dominic Herbertson
15 John McGuinness
16 Michael Sweeney
17 Horst Saiger
18 Michael Browne
19 Xavier Denis
20 James Chawke
21 Michal Dokoupil
22 Joe Akroyd
23 Phil Crowe
24 Tom Weeden
25 Rob Hodson
26 Brian McCormack
27 Rhys Hardisty
28 Michael Booth
29 Julian Trummer
30 Darren Cooper
31 Timothee Monot
32 Richard Wilson
33 Raul Torras Martinez
34 Adrian Harrison
35 Dave Hewson
36 Mike Norbury
37 Josh Daley
38 Richard Charlton
39 Frank Gallagher
40 Jim Hodson
41 Mark Parrett
42 Morgan Govignon
43 Rob Whittall
44 Jonathan Perry
45 Masayuki Yamanaka
46 Ray Casey
47 Dave Moffitt
48 Matt Rees
49 Miroslav Sloboda
50 Paul Williams
51 Matt Mylchreest
52 Nicolas Pautet
53 Jonathan Goetschy
54 David Datzer
55 Justin Collins
56 Forest Dunn

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles