TT 2016 – Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1 Update

TT 2016 – Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1 Update

Following the opening Monster Energy supersport race at TT 2016, it was announced that 11 times TT winner Michael Dunlop had been disqualified from the race, due to a technical infringement.

Reigning super twins Manx Grand Prix winner Rob Hodson, was also disqualified from 14th.


Photo by Louis Porter

ACU Events, issued the following statement, on the disqualifications, from the opening Monster Energy supersport race.

“ACU Events Ltd can confirm that two competitors have been disqualified from today’s Supersport Race 1 at the Isle of Man TT Races.

Michael Dunlop has been excluded from the results for a technical infringement identified during post race examination.

ACU Events Ltd do not believe that there was a deliberate attempt to gain an unfair advantage and no significant performance advantage was gained.

As a result of this disqualification, Dean Harrison moves up to second place with James Hillier now taking the final podium position.

In addition Rob Hodson, who finished 14th in the same race, has also been disqualified from the race having been found to have been running a significantly oversized engine.”

Updated TT 2016 – Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1 results:

1 Ian Hutchinson
2 Dean Harrison
3 James Hillier
4 Conor Cummins
5 John McGuinness
6 Lee Johnston
7 William Dunlop
8 Steve Mercer
9 Gary Johnson
10 Cameron Donald
11 James Cowton
12 Jamie Coward
13 Ben Wylie
14 Michal Dokoupil
15 Robert Wilson
16 Colin Stephenson
17 Derek McGee
18 Dominic Herbertson
19 Derek Sheils
20 Horst Saiger
21 Daley Mathison
22 Ian Pattinson
23 Brian McCormack
24 John Ingram
25 Craig Neve
26 Bjorn Gunnarsson
27 David Sellers
28 Jim Hodson
29 AJ Venter
30 Barry Furber
31 Alex Pickett
32 Paul Smyth
33 Adrian Harrison
34 Julien Toniutti
35 Matthew Rees
36 Xavier Denis
37 Andrew Soar
38 Gavin Lupton
39 George Spence
40 Karl Foster
41 Eric Wilson
42 Morgan Govignon
43 Rob Barber
44 Mike Booth
45 Ben Rea
46 Josh Daley
47 Olaf Romijn
48 Chris Petty
49 Mark Goodings

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *