Stats: Formula TT Roads Course Victors

Stats: Formula TT Roads Course Victors

Ran for 14 years, the Formula TT series first set up in 1977 was the IRRC (International Road Racing Championship), World Superbike Championship of it’s time.

Roads events featured within the series alongside the TT Races were the Ulster Grand Prix, Imatranajo (Finland), Montjuic (Spain) and Vila Real (Portugal).

Not surprisingly in terms of race wins at F1 TT rounds held at roads courses, it’s the legendary Joey Dunlop, five times in a row World Champion from 1982-1986, that stands firmly top of the list, triumphing on 14 occasions.

Outside of the 26 times TT winner, others with impressive F1 TT roads course meeting CV’s include Tony Rutter (7 victories), Barry Smith (5 victories), Ron Haslam (5 victories), Alan Jackson JR (4 victories) and twice Formula Two World Champion Brian Reid (4 victories).

The overall list of those to enjoy roads success at Formula TT rounds from 1977-1990, are as follows:

(Number besides racer’s name indicates amount of victories secured)

Joey Dunlop 14
Tony Rutter 7
Barry Smith 5
Ron Haslam 5
Alan Jackson JR 4
Brian Reid 4
Carl Fogarty 3
Steve Hislop 3
Charlie Williams 2
Graeme Crosby 2
Phil Read MBE 1
John Kidson 1
Mike Hailwood 1
Bill Smith 1
Alex George 1
Mick Grant 1
Wayne Gardner 1
Phil Mellor 1
Roger Marshall 1
John Weeden 1
Graeme McGregor 1
Eddie Laycock 1
Neil Robinson 1
Steve Williams 1

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles