Skerries 100: Race Day Round Up

Skerries 100: Race Day Round Up

Under the circumstances, one has to have nothing but the upmost respect for Skerries 100 event organisers Loughshinny Motorcycle Club, for running a successful but obviously difficult race day for everyone.

Looking back on yesterdays race action, the dominant four stroke force of the meeting was Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney who held off strong challenges from Paul Jordan, Noel Williamson Racing’s Darren Cooper and new Wilson Craig Racing signing Daniel Mettam to claim Open Superbike, Supersport and Grand Final successes.

Twice Junior Manx GP winner Sweeney also went onto finish runner up in a gripping Super Twins race, which saw him just miss out on race victory by only 0.124 of a second, as local racer and fellow multi Manx GP rostrum finisher Andy Farrell claimed a popular victory.

Photo by Tommy Vennard

Junior Support, Senior Support class honours respectively went the way of Eoin O’Sochru and Michael Browne, whilst another next generation roads competitor to join the winners circle arose in the Super Non Qualifiers race, with Niall Power scooping race victory.

Remaining race winners at this years Skerries 100 were John Ella (250), Nigel Moore (125/Moto 3), Stephen Morrison (Lightweight 400), Barry Davidson (Junior Classics) and Robert McCrum (Senior Classics).

Full race results across each class, are as follows:

Open Superbike:

1 Michael Sweeney
2 Paul Jordan
3 Darren Cooper
4 Steven Procter
5 Andy Farrell
6 Daniel Mettam
7 James Chawke
8 Graham Kennedy
9 Forest Dunn
10 Damian Horan
11 Ben Rea
12 David Murphy
13 Noel Carroll

Junior Support:

1 Eoin O’Sochru
2 Stephen Morrison
3 Barry Sheehan
4 Liam Chawke
5 Niall Power
6 Martin Currams
7 Vinny Brennan
8 Noel Smith
9 Aron Hatch
10 Ben Mullane
11 Brian Loughlin
12 John Cahill
13 John Byrne
14 Thomas Whitmore


1 John Ella

125/Moto 3:

1 Nigel Moore
2 Sean Leonard
3 Gary Jordan

Lightweight 400:

1 Stephen Morrison
2 Brian Loughlin

Senior Support:

1 Michael Browne
2 Wayne Sheehan
3 Dermot Cleary
4 Andy McPherson
5 Jordan McFerran
6 Liam Chawke
7 Kevin Baker
8 Ben Wales
9 Aron Hatch


1 Michael Sweeney
2 Paul Jordan
3 Andy Farrell
4 Steven Procter
5 Michael Browne
6 Darren Cooper
7 James Chawke
8 Daniel Mettam
9 Forest Dunn
10 Ben Rea
11 Wayne Sheehan
12 Damian Horan
13 David Murphy
14 Noel Carroll
15 John O’Donovan
16 John Ella

Super Twins:

1 Andy Farrell
2 Michael Sweeney
3 Darren Cooper
4 Michael Browne
5 Barry Sheehan
6 Vinny Brennan
7 Paul O’Rourke
8 Thomas Whitmore

Super Twins Non Qualifiers:

1 Niall Power
2 Ben Mullane
3 Martin Currams
4 Dominic Cottrell
5 James Cottrell
6 Brian Loughlin
7 Noel Smith
8 Robert Cairns
9 Tim Stephenson
10 Nigel Colgan
11 Darren O’Rourke
12 Gearoid Hoare

Junior Classics:

1 Barry Davidson
2 Ed Manly
3 Sean Leonard
4 Brian Mateer
5 Nigel Moore
6 Philip Shaw
7 Freddie Stewart
8 Sam Kinkead
9 Ken Parkes
10 Gearoid Hoare
11 Tim Stephenson
12 Paul McMahon
13 Billy Lyle
14 Trevor Stewart

Senior Classics:

1 Robert McCrum
2 Ed Manly
3 Richard Ford
4 Barry Davidson
5 Sean Leonard
6 John Leigh Pemberton
7 Billy Lyle
8 David Carleton
9 Andy Kildea
10 Tim Stephenson
11 Trevor Stewart

Grand Final:

1 Michael Sweeney
2 Darren Cooper
3 Daniel Mettam
4 Steven Procter
5 Andy Farrell
6 Forest Dunn

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles