Road Racing News

Seeded Starters For Superbike/Senior TT Races, Finally Unveiled!

Finally, we’ve found out today how the start list for the Superbike and Senior races of TT 2018 is shaping up, with the confirmation of the seeded riders for the showpiece six lap races.

Manx hero Conor Cummins will join a select group of racers to hold the number 1 plate, at the most famous road race in the world. A new challenge for the Padgetts racer, who’s showcased over the years an ability to make quick starts to races on the Mountain Course.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

It’s an attribute he will 100 percent need to call upon in just over a few weeks time, given the standard of opposition starting behind him.

Quattro Plant JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s James Hillier holder of the number 1 plate back in 2013, is set to be the second racer in early June, to set off down Glencrutchery Road.

Next up in the starting order is Bathams SMT Racing’s Michael Rutter (No.3), who’s followed by an all star cast of Ian Hutchinson, Silicone Engineering Racing’s reigning Duke Road Race Rankings champion Dean Harrison and Mountain Course lap record holder, new Tyco BMW signing Michael Dunlop.

RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki’s Gary Johnson, regains his favoured start number of seven, whilst Dan Kneen (No.8) who recently won a pulsating Senior Open race at Tandragee, is another who has the machinery this year to take him to the next level.

Holders of the nine and ten plates are respectively Gulf BMW’s David Johnson, and 2017 Joey Dunlop Championship Peter Hickman, who’s tipped by many for great things aboard the Smiths Racing BMW.

Josh Brookes (No.11) heads the Norton challenge, fellow 130 mph club member Martin Jessopp is next up within the starting order, in front of Honda Racing’s Lee Johnston, who once again holds the 13 plate.

Numbers 14, 15, 16 and 17 have been assigned to Temple Golf Club Yamaha’s William Dunlop, and three newcomers to the seeded 1000cc riders category, multi Irish Superbike champion Derek Sheils, Wepol/Penz 13 BMW’s Jamie Coward and Market Rasen’s Phil Crowe.

Holder of the 18 plate is Steve Mercer, but it remains to be seen as to whether, the likeable racer will form part of Honda Racing’s set up at TT 2018.

Full re cap of starters 1-18 for the Superbike and Senior races, of TT 2018, are as follows:

1 Conor Cummins
2 James Hillier
3 Michael Rutter
4 Ian Hutchinson
5 Dean Harrison
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Gary Johnson
8 Dan Kneen
9 David Johnson
10 Peter Hickman
11 Josh Brookes
12 Martin Jessopp
13 Lee Johnston
14 William Dunlop
15 Derek Sheils
16 Jamie Coward
17 Phil Crowe
18 Steve Mercer

Words by Stevie Rial