Road Racing News

Seeded Line Up For TT 2019 Monster Energy Supersport Encounters Unveiled

Just as in the Dunlop Superbike, Royal London 360 Superstock and Pokerstars Senior races, Milenco by Padgetts Conor Cummins will hold the coveted number 1 plate, for the four lap Monster Energy Supersport races.

The Ramsey racer, whilst not largely touted as a Supersport specialist, is not to be underestimated within the middleweight category.

Next up on the entry list between Ulster GP qualifying lap record holder Cummins, is Superbike TT lap record holder Dean Harrison.

Winner of last June’s second Monster Energy Supersport encounter, Silicone Engineering Racing’s Harrison will once again start as prime contender for more 600 success on the fabled, mythical Mountain Course.

23 times TT winner John McGuinness, holds the three plate, although at present has yet to officially reveal his 600 machine of choice for TT 2019.

Places 4, 5 and 6 six within the starting order respectively between them have 35 TT wins, Honda Racing’s Ian Hutchinson (4), Quattro Plant Wicked Coatings Kawasaki’s James Hillier (5) and class lap record holder Michael Dunlop (6).

Photo by Nick Wheeler

The remainder of the scheduled first ten starters are Lee Hardy Racing’s Gary Johnson (7), new Milenco by Padgetts signing Davey Todd (8) and TROOPER Triumph mounted, Peter Hickman (10).

McAdoo Kawasaki’s Adam McLean had been intended to run the nine plate, but as previously mentioned due to injuries gained following last weeks incident at the Around A Pound Tandragee 100, he is now a non entrant.

Lee Johnston tipped to be in the mix for podium finishes or better, aboard the Ashcourt Racing Yamaha, holds the 11 plate, whilst reigning Duke Road Race Rankings champion Derek McGee (12), Sam West (13) and 14 plate holder Dan Cooper are all hugely capable of banking first rate results.

Next down Glencrutchery road behind Aberdare Park king Cooper will be Hebden Bridge’s Jamie Coward, who’s set to pilot a high spec Yamaha for PreZ Racing.

Concluding the 20 seeded competitors are triple Manx GP winner Michael Evans (16), Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Paul Jordan (17), respected class exponent Michael Sweeney (18), Daley Mathison (19) and Davies Motorsport’s Dominic Herbertson (20).

Outside of the seeded runners, added notable start numbers confirmed include Phil Crowe (23), Matt Stevenson (29), Wigan’s Josh Daley (59) and TT newcomers David Datzer (70), Jonathan Goetschy (72).

Full re cap of the first 20 starters, for the 2019 Monster Energy Supersport TT races, are as follows:

1 Conor Cummins
2 Dean Harrison
3 John McGuinness
4 Ian Hutchinson
5 James Hillier
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Gary Johnson
8 Davey Todd
10 Peter Hickman
11 Lee Johnston
12 Derek McGee
13 Sam West
14 Dan Cooper
15 Jamie Coward
16 Michael Evans
17 Paul Jordan
18 Michael Sweeney
19 Daley Mathison
20 Dominic Herbertson

Words by Stevie Rial