Race Of The Year: Ulster Grand Prix Supersport Race 2

Race Of The Year: Ulster Grand Prix Supersport Race 2

Winner of the Road Racing News race of the year, goes to the second Supersport race at the MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix.

In a quite thrilling race, up to seven riders where in consistent contention for race victory.


Photo by Rod Neill

With the race lead changing multiple times, it was very much a case of who had the right tactics to secure race success.

By the end of the six lap race, the final lap would see William Dunlop in the lead, holding off the challenge of 14 times TT winner Ian Hutchinson.


Photo by Rod Neill

But then right at the end of lap six, on the final turn, Hutchy went underneath William, to secure a quite miraculous race win.

Victorious on the Came BPT Yamaha, it was Keith Flint’s Team Traction Control outfit’s first Ulster GP win.

The overall race winning margin, was just one tenth of a second, at the end of in my opinion one of the all time great races around Dundrod.

Peter Hickman on the TROOPER backed ZX6R Kawasaki finalised the podium finishers, following a quite stellar performance from the fourth fastest rider in TT history.

Bruce Anstey finished fourth in front of Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Motorcycles team mate Conor Cummins, as Dean Harrison completed the top six.

Gary Johnson having a one off ride on the East Coast Racing 675 Daytona Triumph, finished a more than creditable seventh, whilst Christian Elkin, Dan Cooper and Paul Jordan all enjoyed productive races, in finishing eighth, ninth and tenth.

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix – Supersport Race 2 Results:

1 Ian Hutchinson
2 William Dunlop
3 Peter Hickman
4 Bruce Anstey
5 Conor Cummins
6 Dean Harrison
7 Gary Johnson
8 Christian Elkin
9 Dan Cooper
10 Paul Jordan
11 Jamie Coward
12 Adam McLean
13 James Cowton
14 Robert Wilson
15 Michael Sweeney
16 Michael Booth
17 Dan Hegarty
18 Mark Parrett
19 Dominic Herbertson
20 Xavier Denis
21 Julien Toniutti
22 Mark Goodings
23 Sam West
24 David Hewson
25 Graham Kennedy
26 Gavin Lupton
27 Patricia Fernandez
28 Gareth Evans
29 Dennis Booth
30 Paul Cranston
31 David Lewis
32 Andrew Sellars
33 Fabrice Faivre

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *