Road Racing News

North West 200: Lights To Flag Superbike Victory For Be Wiser Ducati’s Irwin

Glenn Irwin took his tally of international road race wins to three, following a textbook lights to flag victory within the opening Superbike race of the Vauxhall International North West 200.

Looking at one with the Be Wiser Ducati, the affable racer by lap 2 of the opening big bike encounter on the Triangle course, held a five second advantage over fellow NW200 maestro Alastair Seeley.

Photo by Rod Neill

Event record holder Seeley who ultimately finished third past the chequered flag, race was compromised having been given a ten second penalty for a jump start.

The penalty dropped him back to fifth on the results sheets, behind Honda Racing’s Lee Johnston and Bathams SMT Racing’s Michael Rutter who was delighted to secure yet another NW200 rostrum finish.

Finishing in front of Rutter and Johnston, in the battle for second was Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison who showcased the type of form, that could well yield next month a maiden big bike TT victory.

Photo by Tommy Vennard

There was nothing Bradford’s Harrison could do today though about the persistent pace of Glenn Irwin, who emerged victorious by just a whisker over a second.

Outside of the pace setters, Padgetts Racing’s Conor Cummins showed consistent form in finishing sixth, as Riders Motorcycles Martin Jessopp, PRL Worthington Racing’s Sam West, Quattro Plant/JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s James Hillier and former TT Privateers champion Dan Cooper concluded the top ten finishers.

Making up for the disappointment of retiring from the warm up of the opening Supersport race, Cookstown BE Racing’s Davey Todd firmly lead the newcomers challenge, finishing a more than creditable 12th.

Just some of the leading names not to complete the opening seven lap Superbike race, which had a pretty high attrition rate included Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman, Ian Hutchinson, Dan Kneen and Tyco BMW team mate Michael Dunlop.

Superbike Race 1 results:

1 Glenn Irwin
2 Dean Harrison
3 Michael Rutter
4 Lee Johnston
5 Alastair Seeley
6 Conor Cummins
7 Martin Jessopp
8 Sam West
9 James Hillier
10 Dan Cooper
11 Craig Neve
12 Davey Todd
13 Kris Duncan
14 Adrian Clark
15 Stephen Degnan
16 Toni Rechberger

Words by Stevie Rial