Road Racing News

North West 200: Cowton Joins NW200 Winners Circle Following Dramatic Super Twins Race

McAdoo Kawasaki’s James Cowton joined today the North West 200 winners circle, after coming out on top in a quite dramatic Super Twins race.

A race that provided pretty much endless lead changes, bold moves and in general just great racing, looked to have been on for the fourth and final lap by Team ILR’s Joe Thompson, who made a slight break away from eventual winner James Cowton and KMR Kawasaki’s Jeremy McWilliams.

Photo by Rod Neill

Paton mounted Thompson’s race winning ultimately though came to a halt at the Juniper Chicane, as fellow Yorkshireman Cowton made a brave no quarter asked, no quarter given move, to steal race lead which he held to the finish line.

Next gen star Thompson had to settle for another third place finish as 54 year old veteran McWilliams second, wrapped up an eighth NW200 rostrum finish.

Behind the front three who were covered by just over 1.4 seconds, former 250 class winner Christian Elkin chalked up an excellent fourth place finish whilst Michael Sweeney in fifth place banked another notable results to his international roads CV.

Spain’s Victor Lopez finalised the top six finishers, as Denver Robb, lead newcomer Jonathan Perry, Optimark Road Racing’s Xavier Denis and Marty Lennon rounded out the top ten, in one of in my opinion the best Super Twin races of modern times.

Photo by Tommy Vennard

17 riders completed the race, whilst notable non finishers included race 1 winner Riders Motorcycles Martin Jessopp and early race leader Adam McLean.

Super Twins Race 2 results:

1 James Cowton
2 Jeremy McWilliams
3 Joe Thompson
4 Christian Elkin
5 Michael Sweeney
6 Victor Lopez
7 Denver Robb
8 Jonathan Perry
9 Xavier Denis
10 Marty Lennon
11 Matt Sadowski
12 Neil Kernohan
13 Bruce Birnie
14 Jamie Williams
15 Steven Horne
16 Kris Duncan
17 Robert McCrum

Words by Stevie Rial