Road Racing News

North West 200: Seeley Seals 24th NW200 Triumph In Enthralling Second Superstock Race

Completing a hat trick of victories at the 2018 Vauxhall International North West 200, Tyco BMW’s Alastair Seeley this afternoon emerged victorious in a quite enthralling Superstock race.

Leading throughout, the ‘Wee Wizard’ over the concluding laps of a race, which like the corresponding Super Twins brought multiple lead changes, became embroiled in a high quality tussle for honours with Superstock race 1 victor Peter Hickman.

Photo by Rod Neill

It was not only though between Seeley and Hickman, Dan Kneen, Dean Harrison, Michael Dunlop and Gary Johnson were all also in with a great shout of the race win.

The sixth and final lap saw drama a plenty, which began with Manxman Kneen chasing his first NW200 success, taking the race lead on the run up to Mathers Cross Chicane, before making an error at the chicane which in the process gave him a ten second penalty.

Kneen’s error allowed Silicone Engineering Racing’s Harrison to take lead, he didn’t lead for long though as Hickman and Seeley powered past. Onto Juniper Chicane and Seeley made the decisive move, to pull just enough of a gap on Hickman, to hold the lead to the chequered flag to make it a quite incredible 24 North West 200 victories.

Photo by Tommy Vennard

Hickman in second was pretty happy with sealing another podium finish, whilst Dean Harrison made it two podium placing’s in a day with a hard fought third place finish.

Michael Dunlop finished fourth under 0.2 behind reigning Duke road race rankings champion Harrison, whilst fellow S1000RR BMW racer Kneen courtesy of the aforementioned ten second penalty dropped back to sixth on the result sheets, behind RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki’s Gary Johnson.

Wrapping up the first ten finishers were Riders Motorcycles Martin Jessopp, James Hillier, Conor Cummins and Stroud’s Dan Cooper.

Michael Sweeney finished a very creditable 11th in front of Honda Racing’s Ian Hutchinson, whilst others to impress included lead newcomer Davey Todd 13th, Dominic Herbertson 15th and NW Racing’s Darren Cooper 17th.

Superstock Race 2 results:

1 Alastair Seeley
2 Peter Hickman
3 Dean Harrison
4 Michael Dunlop
5 Gary Johnson
6 Dan Kneen
7 Martin Jessopp
8 James Hillier
9 Conor Cummins
10 Dan Cooper
11 Michael Sweeney
12 Ian Hutchinson
13 Davey Todd
14 Michael Rutter
15 Dominic Herbertson
16 Bruce Birnie
17 Darren Cooper
18 James Cowton
19 Stefano Bonetti
20 Seamus Elliott
21 Mike Norbury
22 Paul Williams
23 Forest Dunn
24 Nadieh Schoots
25 Marty Lennon

Words by Stevie Rial