Newcomers Manx Grand Prix Race Report


Photo by Road Racing News

Newcomers Manx Grand Prix for 2014 began in fine conditions all round with Matthew Rees surging into an early lead in newcomers A class on GT superbikes backed ZX6 Kawasaki.

Billy Redmayne held second position and Shane Egan completed top three at Glen Helen on lap 1, Malachi Mitchell Thomas quickest in newcomers A practice was fourth.

By end of opening lap Billy Redmayne went into race lead holding 2.6 second lead over Matthew Rees whilst Shane Egan was third closely followed by Malachi Mitchell Thomas.

Onto lap two and having gone straight through Egan was into the lead for first time on Askeaton backed GSX-R 750 Suzuki. Sam West also having not pitted at end of lap 1 was second with Malachi Mitchell Thomas slotting into third place having pitted which meant theoretically he was the new race leader.

Positions out front remained largely the same for rest of lap two but Mitchell Thomas was growing his lead over Billy Redmayne in fourth place as Matthew Rees occupied fifth position with Frank Gallagher showing excellent form in sixth position.

Onto the final lap and Egan and West went in four their pit stops which meant Mitchell Thomas now lead by over four seconds over Redmayne in second position with Matthew Rees continuing to be close to be a podium finish.

Malachi Mitchell Thomas’s lead out front grew to 5.7 seconds by Ramsey hairpin on lap three with Billy Redmayne in second position still in with a great chance of newcomers A Manx Grand Prix victory.

As the leaders went over the mountain on final lap Redmayne by the Bungalow was into the lead by 0.9 of a second. From here the CBR 600 mounted rider held his nerve to secure at the finish line a superb newcomers A Manx Grand Prix win.

Malachi Mitchell Thomas acquired second position on Silicone engineering racing ZX6 Kawasaki proving he had adapted brilliantly to the mountain course.

Shane Egan completed podium finishers after a highly accomplished performance from 2013 Irish road race senior support champion. Davey Lambert impressed greatly finishing in fourth position as Marco Pagani R6 Yamaha mounted was a superb fifth.

Matthew Rees, Craig Neve, Joe Newbould, Gareth Evans and Julien Toniutti finalized the top ten. Dean Osborne secured victory in newcomers B Manx Grand Prix on full factory winners wear backed ER6 Kawasaki.

Dean lead throughout although Barry Furber pushed the Manxman all the way hugely impressing finishing in second position.
Nick Anderson competing on RMDK Kawasaki super twin was a fantastic third as Eddie Venn on DP Coldplaning/TCR racing ER6 Kawasaki secured fourth place finish.

Aaron League, Jack Hunter, Stephen Nathan, Tom Stanford, Paul Hedison and Ali Foster all acquired top ten finishes.

James Caswell Cox recorded a superb newcomers C Manx Grand Prix victory after an excellent all round performance. Lancelot Unissart VFR 400 Honda mounted who has impressed all practice week at MGP secured second position.

Gavin Brown was delighted to acquire third position as Leon Murphy, Simon Long, Sam Johnson, John Bain and Robert Pragnell completed the top eight.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *