Formula 1 Classic TT Race Report


Photo by Louis Porter

Fine conditions greeted riders as the 2014 formula 1 classic TT began with Bruce Anstey taking a three second lead at Glen Helen on lap 1 with James Hillier holding second position on Jackson racing Kawasaki.

By end of opening lap Anstey by 15.6 seconds following a new formula 1 classic TT lap record of 123.894 mph over Michael Dunlop in second position. Onto lap two and after pit stops James Hillier lead having not pitted at end of lap 1, this meant that Anstey and Dunlop where now in second and fourth place positions.

Steve Mercer moved into third place on lap two as Bruce Anstey despite having had a pit stop had reeled James Hillier in at the front on lap two having being 22 seconds down. As lap two finished Anstey held a 1.2 second lead over Hillier with Steve Mercer occupying third position.

Michael Dunlop retired at the pits at end of lap 2 which meant that James Hillier was now in a clear second position after his pit stop although a long way behind race leader Anstey.

Russ Mountford moved into third position on lap three with Mercer not far behind, both riders who had an excellent TT 2014 where providing one of the best battles in the race. Bruce Anstey by Cronk Ny Mona on lap three had over a minute lead over James Hillier, the Valvoline racing by Padgetts motorcycles had put on a masterclass around the mountain course during formula 1 classic TT.

As Bruce Anstey crossed the line at end of lap three not only had he clinched race victory but also a new race record. James Hillier was a superb second, this is James third podium finish on the mountain course and theres no doubt many more are on the horizon in the future.

Russ Mountford held onto third position at the line by only a second over Steve Mercer, Russ runner up in TT 2014 privateers championship produced one of the performances of the race securing third position on team York Suzuki.

Behind Steve Mercer in fourth position was recent 350 classic TT winner Lee Johnston whilst seven time Duke road race rankings champion Ryan Farquhar was a highly respectable sixth on Harris Yamaha. Kiaran Hankin was leading Honda mounted rider home in seventh position as Paul Shoesmith, Dave Madsen Mygdal and Timothee Monot all acquired top ten finishes.

In all a fascinating formula 1 classic TT race which provided Bruce Anstey with another notable win around the mountain course, the Valvoline racing by Padgetts motorcycles YZR 500 Yamaha that Bruce has been competing on has attracted a lot of attention as to what the nine TT winner could achieve on this bike.

The answer is a new formula 1 classic TT lap record of 123.894 mph, new race record and his first classic TT races victory to go alongside the significant list of 29 international road races which he has won in hi dazzling road racing career.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *