KDM Hire Cookstown 100: Qualifying Wrap Up

KDM Hire Cookstown 100: Qualifying Wrap Up

Post 1000cc action, 2018 Irish Road Race Junior Support Champion Barry Sheehan, powered to Senior Support qualifying honours. Group A qualifying exponent Sheehan, clocked a best lap time of 1 minute 33.351 seconds.

Nearest pursuer to Sheehan was Armoy rostrum finisher, speediest Group B competitor Keelim Ryan whilst respective third, fourth, fifth quickest overall Liam Trainor, Cookstown debutant Jack Oliver, Tommy Heaphy all looked in good fettle around the Orritor Circuit.

The following 125/Moto 3 timed session saw Michael Browne aboard the Joey’s Bar Racing Honda edge out Melissa Kennedy for qualifying spoils.

Just 0.024 covered Browne and Kennedy, with each registering sub 1 minute 41 second lap times.

Ran alongside the 125 and Moto 3 steeds, the Supersport 300 class pace was set by 88 times Irish road race winner Barry Davidson.

Davidson finished a shade under 1.2 seconds faster than Linton Irwin, who in turn was 1.5 seconds ahead of RJ Woolsey.

There was no stopping 171 plate holder Michael Gillan in Junior Support qualifying whilst the above showcased Davidson, Brian Mateer secured pole positions for tomorrow’s Senior 500, Junior 250, 350 Classic races.

Multi Manx GP winner Darryl Tweed scooped Lightweight Supersport 400 qualifying, with lead chaser Stephen Tobin almost two seconds in arrears.

Remaining timed competition victors were Davy Morgan (250), Richard Ford (Post Classic), Andy Hornby (Senior 1000 Classics), Dave Walsh (Supermono) and McAdoo Kawasaki’s Adam McLean (Super Twins).

Photo credit: Rod Neill

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles