Road Racing News

IRRC Hengelo – Sebastien Le Grelle Powers To Superbike Double Around The Vasselring

Sebastien Le Grelle produced another supreme display around the Vasselring at Hengelo, to make it back to back Superbike victories, to attain a ten point lead, at the end of the opening round of the 2017 IRRC series.

Over 11 seconds clear of Didier Grams (G&G Motorsport by Todoracing), Sebastien underlined his status as one of Belgium’s all time pure roads greats aboard his trusty Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux steed.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Two times IRRC Supersport champion Marek Cerveny completed the podium finishers, holding off a strong challenge from Estonia’s Martin Partelpoig.

Johan Fredriks lead the Kawasaki challenge in fifth, Danny Lanoo was sixth, Marc Fissette was a creditable seventh as former TT Races competitor Juha Kallio, finished a solid eighth.

Lukas Maurer was next up in ninth place, followed by Markka Racing’s Erno Kostamo, who inked the final spot within the top ten.

Kamil Holan had a low key race, finishing 14th, IRRC series newcomer Nico Muller finished in a respectable 17th place, whilst Nadieh Schoots first taste of continental European roads action, culminated with a 21st place finish.

IRRC Hengelo – Superbike Race 2 Results:

1 Sebastien Le Grelle
2 Didier Grams
3 Marek Cerveny
4 Martin Partelpoeg
5 Johan Fredriks
6 Denny Lanoo
7 Marc Fissette
8 Juha Kallio
9 Lukas Maurer
10 Erno Kostamo
11 Petr Biciste
12 David Datzer
13 Pavel Tomecek
14 Kamil Holan
15 John Pilloud
16 Ales Nechvatal
17 Nico Muller
18 Marcel Zuurbier
19 Timo Schonhals
20 Fabrizio Lannutti
21 Nadieh Schoots
22 Vassilios Takos
23 Dirk Kaletsch
24 Foti Psomadakis
25 Jean Pierre Polet
26 Marko Klein
27 Yannik Jacops
28 Rob Van Eijs

Words by Stevie Rial