IRRC 2014 Season Review

IRRC 2014 Season Review

The 2014 international road racing championship season has seen many closely fought and exciting races in a years racing which has seen Didier Grams crowned IRRC superbike winner for the fourth time.

Victories at Hengelo road races, Oostende road races, Chimay road races and most recently at the Frohburg road races have all been secured by Didier in what has been another tremendous IRRC season for him.

Johan Fredriks runner up in the championship has also enjoyed a top season of road racing which has included back to back race victories at the Oss road races. Frank Bakker secured third position in the championship following a highly productive season as Thomas Kreutz finished a highly creditable fourth overall.

Ales Nechvatal Czech road racing cup superbike champion for 2014 finished fifth overall as Matti Seidel, Jochem Van Den Hoek, David Drieghe, Pavel Tomecek and Thomas Gottschalk rounded out the top ten.

In the IRRC supersport class going into the Frohburg road races Joey Den Besten and Marek Cerveny where separated by only one point. Following two tenacious performances Joey Den Besten became IRRC supersport winner for 2014 as Timothy Baken finished runner up with Marek Cerveny finishing third.

Thomas Kreutz added fourth place finish overall in IRRC supersport class to go alongside his fourth position in IRRC superbike. Anders Blaha impressed hugely this season finishing a hugely respectable fifth as Sammy De Caluwe also impressed in completing the top six.

The Frohburg road races the final round of this years international road racing championship proved the huge popularity of the IRRC. Arguably the highlight moment for road racing fans across the world at Frohburg was Michael Dunlop’s entry into the IRRC superbike and open races.


Photo by Road Racing News

11 times TT winner Michael was third in opening IRRC superbike race won by now four time IRRC champion Didier Grams. Second open race provided the 2013 Duke road race rankings champion competing on Penz S1000RR BMW with his first win around Frohburg where he also set a new outright lap record with lap time of 1 minute 34.335 seconds.

Ever since the inaugural international road racing championship in 2010 the popular road racing series has grown in stature ever since. The racing in 2014 has seen Didier Grams prove once again why he is considered one of the best pure road racers in Europe whilst Johan Fredriks excellent season is proof that championship victory in 2015 is a potential possibility.


Photo by Louis Porter

Rising stars Ales Nechvatal, Matti Seidel, Jochem Van Den Hoek, Pavel Tomecek and Thomas Gottschalk have all had top seasons and will all go into next years international road racing championship confident that standout results at all IRRC rounds are on the cards.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *