Road Racing News

Historical TT Facts/Stats Collection 1

To date 15 racers have triumphed on ten more occasions. The most recent racers to go into double figures TT wins wise are the Birchall brothers Ben & Tom.

Just two riders have completed 100 plus TT races, Dave Madsen Mygdal (123 finishes) and ten times TT winner Ian Lougher (105 finishes).

Roy Hanks holds the record for the most Sidecar TT finishes, completing 54 races, the same total of finishes accumulated by 1993 Formula 1 TT victor Nick Jefferies.

Yamaha’s first TT success arose in 1965 when Phil Read MBE emerged victorious from the Lightweight 125 race. Yamaha currently stands second on the all time manufacturer TT wins list with 230 plus triumphs.

Amazingly multi World Superbike Champion’s, Italian motorcycling royalty hasn’t claimed to date a TT podium finish. Other famous marques to as yet not enjoyed a top three finish at the world’s most famous road race include KTM, Harley Davidson, Sarolea and Buell.

Since 2000 just eight different racers have taken the honours in the traditional race week opening Formula 1/Superbike race.

Most recent Senior TT Champion Dean Harrison made his TT debut at the same time as Poland’s first and still to date only TT competitor in history, Piotr Betlej.

Over the past ten years, 30 Mountain Course debutants have topped the 120 mph lap mark, including newcomers record holder Peter Hickman.

Smiths Racing’s Hickman, the existing Mountain Course lap record holder in the last three TT meetings, has claimed 14 rostrum finishes, five of them been race wins.

Just over seven years after the company’s creation, MV Agusta joined the TT winners circle in 1952, as Cecil Sandford took the Ultra Lightweight 125 race spoils.

Words by Stevie Rial