Enniskillen Road Races: Race Day Round Up

Enniskillen Road Races: Race Day Round Up

When reflecting on race day at the UK’s newest roads event, the Enniskillen Road Races, you can’t but not focus upon Derek McGee’s unique achievement of five race wins from five starts.

Alongside Erne Insurance Supersport, Open Superbike, Richard Britton Memorial feature race victories, Mullingar’s McGee also scooped Super Twins and Euro Auction Supersport honours following a compelling race long duel with Adam McLean.

Just over 0.6 of a second covered the B&W Racing, McAdoo Kawasaki backed pair in a race, which was described by many as the best race from today’s competition at Enniskillen.

Third place finisher Kevin Fitzpatrick, who also finished a very respectable fifth in the big bike encounters, took the spoils in the 125/Moto 3 class, whilst 400 honours went the way of local favourite Paul Gartland.

There was also ultra impressive performances from Junior Support, Senior Support class victors Darryl Anderson and Darren Keys, with the latter holding off a strong challenge from Stephen McKeown.

Known for many years for his exploits on two stroke machinery, Ballymena’s Barry Davidson in the past decade has established himself as one of pure road racing’s leading exponents of yesteryear machinery.

The highly respected Davidson further cemented his reputation today with deserved Junior Classic 350, Senior Classic 500 victories.

Photo courtesy of Philip Anderson – Road Racing Daily

Fellow classic machine stalwarts Richard Ford and Brian Mateer, lead home respectively the Junior Classic 250 and Senior Classic 1000 fields.

Alongside the race winners, additional riders to claim podium finishes today were as follows: Noel Smith, Robert Cairns, Nigel Moore, Sam Dunlop, Enda Trearty, Aaron Boyd, Steven Clarke, Ken Parkes, Philip Shaw, Alex McVicker, Thomas Maxwell, Trevor Stewart, Wattie Brown and Freddie Stewart.

It’s been overall a fantastic first Enniskillen Road Races of the 21st century. Great weather, a tremendous atmosphere, proper old school racing, it’s firmly captured the imagination of the real roads fraternity.

Hopefully next year, the event will gain Irish road race championship status, which will help increase the number of entries per class.

Results per race from the 2018 Enniskillen Road Races, is as follows:

Junior Support:

1 Darryl Anderson
2 Noel Smith
3 Robert Cairns
4 Brian Loughlin
5 RJ Woolsey
6 John Cahill
7 Dave Walsh

125/Moto 3:

1 Kevin Fitzpatrick
2 Nigel Moore
3 Sam Dunlop
4 Sean Leonard
5 Ronnie Scott
6 Melissa Kennedy

Lightweight 400:

1 Paul Gartland
2 Enda Trearty
3 Aaron Boyd
4 Brian Loughlin
5 Dave Walsh
6 Darren Duncan

Senior Support:

1 Darren Keys
2 Stephen McKeown
3 Steven Clarke
4 Darryl Anderson
5 Robert Cairns
6 William Hara
7 Mathias Winkenjohann
8 Stuart McCann
9 Noel Smith
10 Jordan McFerran
11 John Cahill
12 George Scott

Junior 350 Classics:

1 Barry Davidson
2 Nigel Moore
3 Ken Parkes
4 Linton Irwin
5 Ian Thompson
6 Andy Kildea
7 Freddie Stewart
8 David Crawford
9 Dave Brough

Junior 250 Classics:

1 Brian Mateer
2 Philip Shaw
3 Alex McVicker
4 Allen Gibson
5 Trevor Stewart

Super Twins:

1 Derek McGee
2 Adam McLean
3 Thomas Maxwell
4 Paul Gartland
5 Stephen McKnight
6 Robert Cairns
7 Brian Loughlin
8 Des Butler

Supersport Race 2:

1 Derek McGee
2 Adam McLean
3 Kevin Fitzpatrick
4 Graham Kennedy
5 Raymond Casey
6 Paul Cranston
7 Dean Campbell
8 David Murphy
9 Eric Wilson
10 Alan Johnston
11 Ryan Maher
12 Stephen Degnan
13 John Ella

Senior 1000 Classics:

1 Richard Ford
2 Philip Shaw
3 Trevor Stewart

Senior 500 Classics:

1 Barry Davidson
2 Wattie Brown
3 Freddie Stewart
4 Gary Jamison
5 Billy Lyle
6 David Carleton
7 Andy Kildea
8 Patrick Walker

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles