Road Racing News

Enniskillen Road Races: Five Star McGee Takes The Spoils In Inaugural Richard Britton Memorial Feature Race

Capping off a truly memorable day at the first Enniskillen roads meet in 66 years, Derek McGee made it five wins from five starts, as he took the spoils in the inaugural Richard Britton Memorial feature race.

As in the Open Superbike race, Mullingar’s McGee made a lightning quick start, quickly moving five seconds clear at the completion of lap 1.

From here he kept up a strong, relentless, accomplished pace to ultimately emerge victorious by just over the 12 second mark.

Photo by Tommy Vennard

McAdoo Kawasaki’s Adam McLean once again finished runner up to the on top form McGee, as the Tobermore racer made it five successive second place finishes.

Banking the final spot on the feature race rostrum was Graham Kennedy who held off a tenacious challenge from Thomas Maxwell.

Kevin Fitzpatrick was fifth, Paul Gartland was sixth, Paul Cranston acquired seventh as Mountain Course stalwarts Eric Wilson and Alan Connor respectively finished eighth and ninth.

Concluding the first ten finishers was multiple times Manx GP rostrum finisher Stephen McKnight, whilst in total just 13 riders completed the eight lap race. 11th, 12th and 13th place finishers were Donald MacFadyen, David Murphy and Stephen Degnan.

Richard Britton Memorial Feature race results, are as follows:

1 Derek McGee
2 Adam McLean
3 Graham Kennedy
4 Thomas Maxwell
5 Kevin Fitzpatrick
6 Paul Gartland
7 Paul Cranston
8 Eric Wilson
9 Alan Connor
10 Stephen McKnight
11 Donald MacFadyen
12 David Murphy
13 Stephen Degnan

Words by Stevie Rial