Classic TT: Johnson Wins Attritional, Drama Filled RST Superbike Race

Classic TT: Johnson Wins Attritional, Drama Filled RST Superbike Race

The 2019 Classic TT Races culminated this evening with a fantastic, drama filled RST Superbike race, which saw David Johnson claim a very popular maiden Classic TT triumph.

Involved throughout in an evenly contested battle for class honours with Team Classic Suzuki’s Michael Dunlop, Australian star Johnson trailed the 19 times TT winner at the end of lap 1, by just over 1.9 seconds.

Six seconds clear at Ramsey Hairpin, by the end of lap two Dunlop’s race lead extended to almost nine seconds, holding an advantage of 8.871 seconds over Superstock TT rostrum finisher Johnson.

After the scheduled pit stops, it was all change out front at Glen Helen on lap three with Johnson now leading Dunlop by 1.755 seconds.

By Ramsey Hairpin though Dunlop was back into the race lead, which he maintained to the end of lap three, moving almost five seconds ahead of Team ACR (Alasdair Cowan Racing) Kawasaki mounted Johnson.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Enjoying a 13 second race lead on the fourth and final lap at the Bungalow, it looked like International roads legend Dunlop had wrapped up another Superbike Classic TT title.

But then drama a plenty was to arise prior to the next timing sector at Cronk Ny Mona, with Dunlop been a confirmed race retirement at Hillberry.

After Dunlop’s bad luck, this allowed Johnson to regain the race lead which he held to the chequered flag to secure a first Classic TT, Mountain Course affiliated race success.

Victorious by 41.267 seconds, it’s fair to say that the amiable, laid back Adelaide racer is one of the most popular Classic TT champion’s since the events original inception in 2013.

Race runner-up behind Johnson was Irish Road Race Superbike Champion Derek Sheils (Greenall Racing Kawasaki), who got the better of 2013 Lightweight TT winner, lead non Kawasaki mounted competitor James Hillier (Oxford Racing Ducati/Louigi Moto) after a gripping, high quality last lap battle for second place, which saw them covered by just over 1.5 seconds.

Milenco by Padgetts Conor Cummins piloting the illustrious, great sounding YZR 500 Yamaha steed placed fourth, whilst Herheim Racing’s Ryan Kneen, Mistral Racing’s Michael Sweeney gained very creditable respective fifth, sixth place finishes.

Photo by Mark Corlett

Wrapping up the first ten finishers from an extremely attritional race were Rob Hodson (Greenall Racing), IRRC Superbike series winner Davey Todd (Milenco by Padgetts), Craig Neve (Team ACR) and Michal ‘Indi’ Dokoupil (Cookson Racing).

Added impressive results were banked by the likes of Andy Farrell (11th), Wiz Norton Racing’s Richard Wilson (13th), Josh Daley (14th), Paul ‘Potchy’ Williams (15th), Darren Cooper (18th), Allan Brodie (19th), Michael Booth (22nd) and Ultra Lightweight Manx GP practice week pace setter Dan Ingham (23rd).

As aforementioned the attrition rate within the four lap race was extremely high with notable non finishers including Team York Suzuki’s Gary Johnson & Sam West, Team Classic Suzuki’s Phil Crowe & Danny Webb, Paul Jordan, Gary Vines and Junior Classic TT victor Jamie Coward.

RST Superbike Classic TT race result, is as follows:

1 David Johnson
2 Derek Sheils
3 James Hillier
4 Conor Cummins
5 Ryan Kneen
6 Michael Sweeney
7 Rob Hodson
8 Davey Todd
9 Craig Neve
10 Michal Dokoupil
11 Andy Farrell
12 Joe Thompson
13 Richard Wilson
14 Josh Daley
15 Paul Williams
16 John Barton
17 Forest Dunn
18 Darren Cooper
19 Allan Brodie
20 Dave Hewson
21 Mark Parrett
22 Michael Booth
23 Dan Ingham
24 Dennis Booth
25 Dave Madsen Mygdal
26 Darryl Tweed
27 Rhys Hardisty
28 Eric Wilson
29 Wayne Axon
30 Lancelot Unissart
31 Alec Whitwell
32 Steve Moody

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles