Barry Sheene Festival Powered By Suzuki – Dean Harrison Continues Mount Supremacy

Barry Sheene Festival Powered By Suzuki – Dean Harrison Continues Mount Supremacy

Dean Harrison underlined his status as the current master of Oliver’s Mount today, at the Barry Sheene Festival Powered by Suzuki.

Taking his total of victories at Scarborough to 12, the reigning Steve Henshaw international gold cup winner, was in dominant form in the opening modern junior 600 and modern solo open races.

When he joined the Silicone Engineering Racing team in November of 2015, many people including me where sceptical as to whether this a good move for the 2014 lightweight TT winner.


Quite clearly switching from Mar Train Racing where he endured many a testing time with the unpredictable new YZF R1M Yamaha, back to Kawasaki machinery with Silicone Engineering Racing, has proven an excellent decision.

Leading the challenge to Dean in the opening modern junior 600 race today at the mount, was Ivan Lintin on the Devitt RC Express Racing ZX6R Kawasaki.

The following modern solo open race 1 saw Dan Hegarty on the RTR Motorcycles ZX10R Kawasaki produce a highly accomplished all round performance.

Second place was added further proof of the growing momentum that the TT privateers champion has at Scarborough.

In my opinion he will start the main competition to Dean Harrison, in tomorrow’s re run of the Bob Smith Spring Cup, scheduled to run over eight laps.

Added stand out performers today at Oliver’s Mount included Daley Mathison recording series of third place finishes, Mike Norbury on only his second appearance at England’s only pure road racing circuit, wrapped up back to back sixth place finishes.

Rising stars Tom Weeden, Mark Goodings, Brad Vicars, Darren Cooper, Matthew Rees, Callum Ward all impressed as did Wayne Humble tipped to gel quickly with the Mountain Course, as he makes his debut on the famous road racing circuit in the world, at the upcoming Manx Grand Prix.

Modern Junior 600 Race 1 Results:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Ivan Lintin
3 Daley Mathison
4 Dan Hegarty
5 Tom Weeden
6 Mike Norbury
7 Darren Cooper
8 Wayne Humble
9 Callum Ward
10 Jay Bellers Smith

Modern Solo Open Race 1 Results:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Dan Hegarty
3 Daley Mathison
4 Mick Goodings
5 Jamie Coward
6 Mike Norbury
7 Mark Goodings
8 Darren Cooper
9 Brad Vicars
10 Matthew Rees

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *