Barry Sheene Festival Powered By Suzuki – Day 1 Round Up

Barry Sheene Festival Powered By Suzuki – Day 1 Round Up

Dean Harrison is on course for a hat trick of Barry Sheene Trophy victories, having won the first leg of the Barry Sheene Trophy races today at Oliver’s Mount.

Piloting the Silicone Engineering Racing ZXR 750 Kawasaki, which he looks set to compete on in the Superbike Classic TT, he was victorious by in excess of ten seconds over nearest challenger David Bell.

Dan Kneen on his return to Scarborough finished third, on the Mistral Racing ZXR 750 Kawasaki.

Phil Stead secured overall 250/350/500/pre 73 classic & Denis Parkinson classic senior and Lightweight/Classic FII victories, whilst the modern lightweight challenge was lead by 400 lap record holder Dan Frear.


Joe Thompson impressed in securing series of second place finishes, whilst 1993 Formula 1 TT winner Nick Jefferies marked his return to Oliver’s Mount with a sixth place finish.

Dean Harrison made it four wins from four starts in the opening modern senior race. Illustrating his undoubted mount prowess again on the Silicone Engineering Racing ZX10R Kawasaki, Dean held off a strong challenge from Dan Hegarty, who was the early race leader.

Jamie Coward new to the Devitt RC Express Racing fold, completed the top three finishers, as Matthew Rees impressed on the GT Superbikes/Phil Morris Racing backed ZX10R Kawasaki would go onto finish a highly creditable seventh.

Steve Ramsden/Matty Ramsden where victorious in a close fought opening F2 sidecars encounter, rising stars at Scarborough Lee Crawford/Sam Christie finished second under 1.5 seconds behind.

James Cowton on his own teams ER6 Kawasaki held off a tenacious challenge from rising star Brad Vicars, to win the opening super twins race.

Peter Boast, VRS Racing ER6 Kawasaki wrapped up the top three finishers as Rob Livesey in fourth place, enjoyed a new personal best result around the mount.

250/350/500/Pre 73 Classic & Denis Parkinson Classic Senior Race 1 Result:

1 Phil Stead
2 Joe Thompson
3 Ross Dunning
4 David Walker
5 David hebb
6 Nick Jefferies
7 Craig Ridgley
8 Jack Scrivener
9 Geoff Hadwin
10 Peter Stringer

Modern Lightweight/Classic FII Race 1 Result:

1 Phil Stead
2 Joe Thompson
3 Dan Frear
4 Mick Goodings
5 Justin Waring
6 Peter Boast
7 Rad Hughes
8 Dave Woolams
9 Aaron Mellish
10 Tony Flinton

Barry Sheene Trophy First Leg Race Result:

1 Dean Harrison
2 David Bell
3 Dan Kneen
4 Peter Boast
5 Daley Mathison
6 Michael Hand
7 Mark Goodings
8 Martin Harrison
9 Brad Vicars
10 Gaz Evans

Modern Senior Race 1 Result:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Dan Hegarty
3 Jamie Coward
4 Mick Goodings
5 Mark Goodings
6 Dan Kneen
7 Matthew Rees
8 Dave Woolams
9 Stephen Degnan
10 Stephen Parsons

F2 Sidecars Race 1 Result:

1 Steve Ramsden/Matty Ramsden
2 Lee Crawford/Sam Christie
3 Dave Wallis/T Belsey
4 John Lowther/Jake Lowther
5 Rod Bellas/Glenn Dawson
6 Greg Lambert/Julie Canipa
7 John Chandler/B Chandler
8 Tony Thirkell/T Johnson
9 K Williams/J Williams

Super Twins Race 1 Results:

1 James Cowton
2 Brad Vicars
3 Peter Boast
4 Rob Livesey
5 James Tadman
6 Lewis Bramwell
7 Michael Bampton
8 Michael Mace
9 Gary Graves
10 Owen Graves

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *