66th Scarborough Gold Cup – Dean Harrison’s Oliver’s Mount Supremacy Continues

66th Scarborough Gold Cup – Dean Harrison’s Oliver’s Mount Supremacy Continues

Dean Harrison continued his supremacy around Oliver’s Mount, with two world class performances today at the 66th Scarborough Gold Cup on the Silicone Engineering Racing ZX10R Kawasaki.

The opening Solo Open A race would see the runner up in the Joey Dunlop Championship at TT 2016, battle his way to victory, as held off a determined challenge from Ivan Lintin who finished 3.329 seconds behind in second place.


Ivan who held race lead at the end of lap 1, showed his proven prowess around the mount, on the Devitt RC Express Racing ZX10R Kawasaki.

Derek Sheils piloting his own teams Shirlaws Motorcycles backed ZX10R Kawasaki, finished a fine third, following a highly accomplished display from the Irish road race Superbike champion.

Radcliffe’s Racing’s Dan Hegarty, the TT privateers champion, lead the BMW challenge in fourth, whilst John McGuinness secured fifth on the EMC2/Bet Victor backed CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade.


Michael Dunlop competing on a full blown Buildbase/Hawk Racing S1000RR BMW Superbike, had a solid and consistent race, in finishing sixth, along the way lapping close to under 1 minute 47 seconds.

The top ten in the six lap race was completed by Daley Mathison, Mick Goodings, Senior Manx Grand Prix winner Tom Weeden and 2014 Duke Road Race Rankings champion James Cowton.

The penultimate race of day one of action at the 66th Scarborough Gold Cup, the opening Senior race, would see Dean Harrison once again reign supreme.

Showing more sparkling form on the Silicone Engineering Racing ZX10R Kawasaki, the Bradford based rider’s nearest challenger was once again Ivan Lintin.

Following the completion the race which was reduced to six laps, the final gap between the fellow winners of the Lightweight TT, stood at 5.934 seconds.

Dan Kneen was in contention throughout for second, before mechanical issues struck the Mar Train Racing YZF R1M Yamaha, the same notion applied to 13 times TT winner Michael Dunlop.

John McGuinness finalised the top three finishers, whilst Dan Hegarty took the Radcliffe’s Racing S1000RR BMW to a more than creditable fourth.

Daley Mathison finished in fifth place whilst Oliver’s Mount specialist Mick Goodings, rounded out the first six finishers.

Wrapping up the top ten was Mark Goodings, Frank Gallagher, Brian Greenfield and leading privateer in the Senior Classic TT, Dominic Herbertson.

66th Scarborough Gold Cup – Senior Race 1 Results:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Ivan Lintin
3 John McGuinness
4 Dan Hegarty
5 Daley Mathison
6 Mick Goodings
7 Mark Goodings
8 Frank Gallagher
9 Brian Greenfield
10 Dominic Herbertson
11 Stephen Parsons
12 Barry Furber
13 Stephen Degnan
14 Gavin Lupton
15 Paul Marley

66th Scarborough Gold Cup – Solo Open A Race 1 Results:

1 Dean Harrison
2 Ivan Lintin
3 Derek Sheils
4 Dan Hegarty
5 John McGuinness
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Daley Mathison
8 Mick Goodings
9 Tom Weeden
10 James Cowton
11 Paul Gartland
12 Frank Gallagher
13 Mark Goodings
14 Brian Greenfield
15 Mike Norbury
16 Stephen Parsons
17 Dominic Herbertson
18 Brad Vicars
19 Callum Ward

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *