Vicars Shatters Newcomers Lap Record On Route To Class A Success

Vicars Shatters Newcomers Lap Record On Route To Class A Success

AJB Racing’s Brad Vicars shattered the existing Newcomers A Manx GP lap record, on route to class A success this evening.

The Tadcaster based rider from a standing start surpassed Tim Venables previous record speed of 117.897 mph, lapping at 118.786 mph which formed the foundations of a quite brilliant performance from the leading newcomer within the 2016 Duke Road Race Rankings championship.

Runner up, fellow next generation racer Darryl Tweed despite the handicap of his visor coming off down Bray Hill was also over the old lap record from a standing start, lapping at 117.993 mph.

8.493 behind Vicars at the completion of the three lap race, the Ballymoney racer happy enough with second, whilst third place finisher The Peoples Bike Team backed Stephen Parsons, admitted it was quite a shock to finish on the podium.

Andrew Fisher and Mike Norbury, fourth and fifth both made accomplished Mountain Course race debut’s, same applied to sixth placed and leading overseas competitor, Italian hill climb star Francesco Curinga.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

David McConnachy finished seventh whilst eighth placed Richard Stubbs was over the moon with his result, plus lapping in excess of 112.5 mph.

Rounding out the top ten finishers was Slovakia’s Miroslav Sloboda and Andrew Windsor.

Added impressive rides came from the likes of America’s Adam Bauer in 15th place, Fabrice Faivre 17th and Aaron Mellish 18th.

In total 21 riders completed a record breaking re started 2017 Newcomers A Manx Grand Prix, which was originally red flagged following an incident at Oak Trees involving Nicolo Capelli.

Road Racing News wishes the talented Italian rider a speedy recovery from the injuries that he has sustained.

Newcomers A Manx Grand Prix Race Results:

1 Brad Vicars
2 Darryl Tweed
3 Stephen Parsons
4 Andrew Fisher
5 Mike Norbury
6 Francesco Curinga
7 Matt Stevenson
8 Richard Stubbs
9 Miroslav Sloboda
10 Andrew Windsor
11 Stephen Casey
12 Stuart McCann
13 Daryl Dorlich
14 Dan Beighton
15 Adam Bauer
16 Sebastian Witt
17 Fabrice Faivre
18 Aaron Mellish
19 Teddy Bresson
20 Ramon Basomba
21 Bertus Folkertsma

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles