Road Racing News

Wilson Overcomes Pit Lane Dramas For Popular Newcomers B Victory

An absolutely overjoyed Derek Wilson overcame a 30 second pit lane speeding penalty, to secure Newcomers B Manx GP victory.

With early pace setter Dave Quine encountering problems, KAOS Racing’s Wilson soon took charge moving into of ten seconds plus on New Zealand’s Ben Rosendaal, before the pit stop dramas.

Despite the timing handicap incurred in gasoline alley, the Bandon based racer got his head down overcoming a 10 second deficit to race leader at Glen Helen on lap three Rosendaal, moving back into race lead at Ballaugh Bridge.

From here he was able to maintain a solid advantage out front, ultimately clinching victory by almost 8.2 seconds.

Finishing third behind New Zealand’s newest Mountain Course star Rosendaal was Slick Performance Racing’s Lee Bass, who was over 2 minutes clear of fourth place finisher Nick Southerwood.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

The remaining finishers in the three lap race was Oliver’s Mount specialist Ian Stanford and Martin Currams.

Full re cap of results from the 2017 Newcomers B Manx Grand Prix, is as follows:

1 Derek Wilson
2 Ben Rosendaal
3 Lee Bass
4 Nick Southerwood
5 Ian Stanford
6 Martin Currams

Words by Stevie Rial