Ulster Grand Prix 2015 – Close Battles In Qualifying

Ulster Grand Prix 2015 – Close Battles In Qualifying


Guy Martin set the pace in superstock qualifying at the 2015 Ulster Grand Prix, following lap speed of 129.510 mph on superstock spec Tyco BMW.

Keith Amor piloting Rig Deluge Road Racing S1000RR BMW impressed hugely lapping at 129.317 mph, to finish second quickest, as he proved his prowess around Dundrod.

William Dunlop made it a BMW 1-2-3 in qualifying as he finished third fastest with lap speed of 129.264 mph.

Five times winner at the worlds fastest road race, Ian Hutchinson 129.196 mph finished fourth fastest on Paul Bird Motorsport ZX10R Kawasaki, Hutchy finished leading non BMW mounted rider in qualifying.

East Coast Racing’s Lee Johnston 128.195 mph completed the top five, whilst Michael Dunlop competing on his own teams BMW finalised the top six during a closely fought qualifying session.

Rounding out the top ten where Mar Train Racing’s Dean Harrison, Peter Hickman on the Briggs Equipment S1000RR BMW, David Johnson on the Ice Valley Racing S1000RR BMW and lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin.


Lee Johnston lead the way in supersport qualifying, as the supersport lap record holder around Oliver’s Mount, proved once again why many people are tipping him for multiple victories at this years Ulster Grand Prix.

Competing on East Coast Racing 675 Daytona Triumph, Lee secured lap speed of 127.375 mph.

Leading the challenge to the three times international road race winner, was RST superbike TT winner Bruce Anstey.

Bruce on the Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Motorcycles CBR 600 Honda, lapped at 127.150 mph, as showcased why he is more than capable of adding to his tally of ten UGP victories.

675 Daytona Triumph mounted Guy Martin finished third fastest, as he finished marginally in front of Tyco BMW team mate William Dunlop.

Keith Amor Rig Deluge Road Racing Honda, Gearlink Kawasaki’s Glenn Irwin, 11 times TT winner Ian Hutchinson all showed top class form in finishing fifth, sixth, seventh in qualifying.

Top ten was concluded by Southern 100 supersport lap record holder Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop on his own teams CBR 600 Honda.


Joey’s Bar Racing’s Sam Wilson finished on top in lightweight qualifying. Sam lapped at a very impressive 115.303 mph to finish comfortably fastest.

Logan Racing’s Neil Kernohan 112.569 mph, impressed in finishing second quickest, Paul Robinson 2010 North West 200 250 winner finished third fastest.

Paul Owen piloting team 98 RS250 Honda was fourth quickest, whilst leading 400 mounted competitor was Irish road race 400 championship leader Michal Dokoupil, fourth overall in qualifying following lap speed of 109.567 mph.

The in form Seamus Elliott lapping at 109 mph rounded out the top six. Finalising the top ten in qualifying was Callum Laidlaw, Stephen Morrison, Bryan Harding, Andy Mcallister.

Ultra Lightweight

2007 North West 200 250 winner Christian Elkin 107.700 mph topped the time sheets in ultra lightweight qualifying.

Rising road racing star Adam McLean finished second quickest in front of Irish road race 125 championship leader Paul Jordan.

Connor Behan, Paul Robinson fourth and fifth fastest both showed strong pace around Dundrod as did John Cooke who completed the top six.

Top ten in qualifying where finalised by James Kelly, Craig Gibson, Jack Sands and Lorenzo Tiveroni.

Super Twins

Glenn Irwin surprised many by going quickest in super twins qualifying at the Ulster Grand Prix.

Glenn competing on Cookstown Burrows Engineering Racing ER6 Kawasaki lapped at a hugely impressive 117.994 mph.

Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin finished second quickest, whilst reigning Duke Road Race Rankings champion James Cowton impressed on Stewart Smith Racing ER6 Kawasaki, as he finished an impressive third in qualifying.

TT 2015 privateers champion Dan Cooper was next up in fourth on CMS Racing ER6 Kawasaki, the two time Welsh Open winner at Aberdare Park Road Races was following by Paul Jordan piloting the B&W Racing ER6 Kawasaki.

Rounding out the top six was recently crowned Irish road race super twins champion Derek Mcgee.



Photo by Rod Neill

Guy Martin produced a dazzling lap speed of 132.235 mph, as he secured pole position not only for the feature superbike race, but also for tonight’s Dundrod 150 superbike race.

Bruce Anstey 132.057 mph showed top class pace on Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Motorcycles CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade, as he finished second fastest.

Ian Hutchinson 131.967 mph proved why he is an 11 times TT winner, as he finished third quickest on Paul Bird Motorsport ZX10R Kawasaki.

Peter Hickman was one of the standout performers in qualifying following lap speed of 131.936 mph, as he finished fourth quickest, showcasing excellent pace around Dundrod.

East Coast Racing’s Lee Johnston kept up his fine form by finishing fifth quickest, top six in qualifying was rounded out by Tyco BMW’s William Dunlop.

Michael Dunlop on Buildbase BMW superbike was seventh fastest followed by Mar Train Racing’s Dean Harrison.

Keith Amor and Dan Kneen completed the top ten, during a thrilling superbike qualifying session.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *