Road Racing News

Team Of The Year Award For Burrows Engineering Racing

Team of the Year award for Burrows Engineering Racing

Belfast Telegraph's Jim Gracey, John Burrows and Adelaide girl

Photo by Baylon McCaughey

2014 was a very successful year for Burrows Engineering Racing and that was truly emphasised and recognised at the Ramada Hotel in Belfast last Friday night when the annual Adelaide Motorcycle Awards were handed out.
Team owner John Burrows was absolutely delighted, and somewhat overwhelmed, when his team were named as Belfast Telegraph Team of the Year while the Dungannon based outfit’s Michael Sweeney was chosen as IFS National Road Racer of the Year.

Last season, riding a Burrows Engineering 250 Honda, Skerries flyer Sweeney won the 250GP races at Cookstown, Tandragee, Kells, Bush, Walderstown, Faugheen and Killalane to runaway with the Ulster and Irish 250GP Road Racing titles while his team mate Dan Kneen surpassed all expectations with a terrific run of results on the Burrows Engineering GSXR 1000 Superbike.

Kneen won at Cookstown, Tandragee, Kells, Skerries, Walderstown and Faugheen and come the end of the road racing season the team had the Ulster and Irish Superbike titles under their belt.
Kneen also excelled on the international front. After taking three top ten finishes and recording a personal best 129 mph lap at the Isle of Man TT, Kneen took a famous Superstock 1000 victory for Burrows Engineering Racing at the Ulster Grand Prix. Also worth noting were four rostrum finishes at the intimidating Southern 100 event.

After recovering from the excesses of the big night in Belfast, team owner Burrows said: “I’m feeling all sorts of emotions at the minute. I’m honoured, delighted, proud and quite surprised too if I’m honest. Although I firmly believed our 2014 efforts put us in the running for the Team of the Year award, it was a surprise to win it as we were up against a lot of stiff opposition including TAS Racing, Mar-Train Racing and Michael Dunlop Racing.

“To beat squads like that to the award is one of the highlights of my time in road racing. It’s fabulous that experts judges such as Jeremy McWilliams, Adrian Coates and Phillip McCallen ranked us the best in the business!
“But it’s not all about me. I may be the front man of Burrows Engineering Racing but it’s a team effort and this award is just as much for all the crew and sponsors, winning can’t be done singled handed. I hope the award reflects well on everyone especially the main sponsors who are Cookstown, Hill Plastering and Flooring Contracts, Marks Bloom Chartered Accountants, Wemoto and Cookstown Caravans.

“Big plans are in place for 2015 and this prestigious recognition will hopefully spur us on to more successes and maybe even attract new sponsors to the team. More support would be very welcome.
“I’d like to finish by again thanking everyone associated with Burrows Engineering Racing who made the Team of the Year award a reality and I hope everyone who attended the Adelaide Awards night had as good a night as all my party did.”

Words by Baylon McCaughey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.