Stats: Sub 46 Second Paeroa Battle Of The Streets Competitors

Stats: Sub 46 Second Paeroa Battle Of The Streets Competitors

For 27 years, the ‘Battle of The Streets’ meeting at Paeroa attracted a who’s who of New Zealand road racing talents.

Just over 1.5 kilometres long, the tight, twisty Paeroa course whilst relatively short in distance compared to other roads circuits worldwide still proved challenging for competitors to master.

Former Robert Holden Memorial feature race winner at Whanganui Scott Moir, in 2018 at Paeroa set a blistering new outright lap record of 44.401 seconds.

Photo by Andy McGechan

Aside from multi Suzuki Tri Series Champion Moir, others to go sub 45 seconds around Paeroa are the following:

NZ roads legend Tony Rees (44.427), Daniel Mettam (44.509), Sloan ‘Chopper’ Frost (44.86), Dan Stauffer (44.912) and Craig Shirriffs (44.915).

A further seven racers have dropped under the 46 second lap mark, they are as follows:

17th place finisher in last June’s Royal London 360 Superstock TT Jay Lawrence (45.108), former Newcomers A Manx GP top ten finisher Hayden Fitzgerald (45.231), Mitch Rees (45.3).

Toby Summers (45.324), BSB Superstock 600 Championship front runner, accomplished Daytona 200 exponent Shane Richardson (45.394), Ryan Hampton (45.425), Ray Clee (45.472) and David Hall (45.775).

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles