Southern 100: Coward Wins Twins Sizzler

Southern 100: Coward Wins Twins Sizzler

A few minutes behind schedule, Mike Kerruish Plumbing & Heating Lightweight competitors took to the sun drenched Billown course.

At 6:30 PM, Wednesday evening’s race action opened and going to the form-book, KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan’s Jamie Coward got the hole shot.

By Cross Four Ways though, Dafabet Racing’s Rob Hodson had grabbed the initiative out front.

Just 0.036 was Hodson’s lead over Hebden Bridge’s Coward, as lap one finalised.

Early proceedings during lap two saw Coward re-take P1 from fellow S100 specialist Hodson.

Positions altered again once lap two concluded with Hodson back in front, now leading by half a second plus over race pole sitter Coward.

Nearing the existing Super Twins lap record, TT Privateers Champion Coward overhauled Hodson on lap three.

At mid race distance only 0.084 of a second covered the front running duo.

Both past the previous Twins class lap-record on lap four, hardly anything could separate Coward and Hodson as late race stages beckoned.

The penultimate lap of the race saw Hodson set a huge new lap-record of 105.998 mph.

This sharp, major pace injection allowed the Englishman to open up a 0.477 advantage over Junior Classic TT winner Coward, who also nudged past the 105-mph lap-mark.

Lap six would see Coward dramatically re-claim P1 which he held to the chequered flag.

New Twins lap-record holder Hodson finished 1.181 down on new race record-holder Coward whilst the final spot on the podium was obtained by PreZ Racing’s Paul Jordan.

Jonathan Perry placed an excellent fourth, Barry Furber took fifth as Marc Colvin wrapped up the top six finishers.

Concluding the top ten finishers were Rhys Hardisty, Heattech Racing’s Paul Cassidy, Jack Fowler and Adrian Kershaw.

Southern 100 – Mike Kerruish Plumbing & Heating Lightweight race result:

1st – Jamie Coward
2nd – Rob Hodson
3rd – Paul Jordan
4th – Jonathan Perry
5th – Barry Furber
6th – Marc Colvin
7th – Barry Furber
8th – Paul Cassidy
9th – Jack Fowler
10th – Adrian Kershaw

11th – Stephen McKnight
12th – Anthony Redmond
13th – Forest Dunn
14th – Michael Russell
15th – Stephen Tobin
16th – Anthony O’Carroll
17th – Andy Whale
18th – Steve Moody
19th – Dan Sayle
20th – Gareth Arnold

21st – Jack Petrie
22nd – Ryan Whitehall
23rd – Russell Brook
24th – Mark Jackson
25th – Tom Snow
26th – Brian Fuidge
27th – Adrian Skaife

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles