Road Racing’s Great Races – 2013 Supersport TT Race 2


After three wins from three races all eyes where on Michael Dunlop to see if win number four at TT 2014 was imminent. The second supersport TT race of this years Isle of Man TT began with James Hillier first down Glenclutchery road on the Quattro Plant ZX6 Kawasaki supersport bike. At the first timing point at Glen Helen it was Bruce Anstey who took a early lead over Michael Dunlop by 0.4 of a second. In third place was William Dunlop in front of James Hillier who held fourth place and John Mcguinness who rounded out the top 5.

By the Bungalow on lap 1 Michael Dunlop was now in front but only just in front of Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop remained in third place on the Milwaukee Yamaha R6 whilst John Mcguinness, Guy Martin and James Hillier where all close together in fourth, fifth and sixth places. Dean Harrison was soon into sixth place in front of James Hillier and was impressing everyone with his speed on the Ian Bell motorcycles R6 Yamaha.



One of the leading newcomers at this years Isle of Man TT has been Sam Wilson. Sam competing for the Logan racing team on a R6 Yamaha has impressed many in lapping at over 116 mph.

As the riders made it to Ramsey on lap 1 Bruce Anstey was now back in front by around over 1 second over Michael Dunlop, William Dunlop still maintained third place whilst Guy Martin was fourth with John Mcguinness holding fifth place. By the end of lap 1 Bruce Anstey had a 1.5 second lead over Michael Dunlop in second place. William Dunlop, John Mcguinness, Guy Martin, Dean Harrison, James Hillier, Cameron Donald, Gary Johnson and Conor Cummins completed the top 10 as lap 1 came to a close.

On lap 2 by Glen Helen, Anstey was increasing his lead over the Dunlop brothers in second and third, whilst Mcguinness remained in fourth place showing good form on the HM Plant Honda by Padgetts motorcycles CBR 600 Honda. At Ramsey Anstey had now a 3 second lead over Michael Dunlop, William Dunlop maintained third place in front of John Mcguinness whilst Cameron Donald, James Hillier and Dean Harrison where all battling over fifth place.

So the pit-stops beckoned and Bruce Anstey had at the end of lap 2 a 3 second lead over Michael Dunlop. The pit-stops made a great difference as Anstey opened up after the pit-stops a 9 second lead over Dunlop. Positions within the top 10 remained the same apart from Cameron Donald now moving into the top six on the Wilson Craig racing CBR Honda.

Lap 3 at Glen Helen saw Bruce Anstey now 5 seconds in front of Michael Dunlop, William Dunlop was now under pressure from John Mcguinness to maintain third position after a great pit by the HM Plant Honda by Padgetts motorcycles team. Dean Harrison was still in the top 7 in the race whilst Guy Martin was now in eighth place in front of Gary Johnson on the Valmoto MV Agusta 675.

At Ramsey on lap 3 Bruce Anstey now lead by 4 seconds over Michael Dunlop whilst John Mcguinness was into third place but only by around half a second over William Dunlop. Cameron Donald was now into fifth place ahead of James Hillier who occupied sixth place in front of Dean Harrison whilst Guy Martin and Gary Johnson where closely matched in eighth and ninth positions. By the time Bruce Anstey reached Cronk ny Mona the gap at the front was down to around 3.4 seconds as Michael Dunlop was on a charge as lap 3 came to a close.

William Dunlop was back in third place but only by a second over John Mcguinness, Cameron Donald remained in fifth place in front of James Hillier and Dean Harrison maintained seventh place. So the final lap began with everyone around the TT course wondering was Michael Dunlop going to do what he did in the superstock TT race on Monday and come from behind and win or was Bruce Anstey going to win another supersport TT race.

By Glen Helen on the final lap Bruce Anstey still lead but now by only 1.5 seconds over Michael Dunlop, John Mcguinness was back into third place in front of William Dunlop whilst Cameron Donald, James Hillier, Dean Harrison, Guy Martin, Gary Johnson and Conor Cummins completed the top 10.

At Ramsey on lap 4 Michael Dunlop was now in front by 2.5 seconds over Bruce Anstey whilst the battle for the final place on the podium was becoming increasingly exciting as William Dunlop was now back into third place over John Mcguinness, there was nothing to separate them as lap 4 entered its final conclusion.

So over the mountain Bruce Anstey and Michael Dunlop went and Anstey gave it everything in his pursuit of Dunlop now in the lead, as the riders reached the finish line on lap 4 Bruce Anstey had broken the old supersport lap record with a lap speed of 127.889 mph, but would it be enough to take race victory.

It wasn’t ,as Michael Dunlop crossed the line to win by 2.313 seconds whilst also setting a new lap record in the supersport TT race with a lap speed of 128.666 mph! An astonishing lap time especially on a supersport 600 bike. John Mcguinness edged out William Dunlop to finish in third place and record his fourth podium finish at this years Isle of Man TT.

Cameron Donald and James Hillier finished in fifth and sixth places in front of the impressive Dean Harrison whilst Guy Martin, Gary Johnson and Conor Cummins completed the top 10. Jamie Hamilton produced a top ride to record a 12th place finish on the KMR Kawasaki powered by Vauxhall supersport bike, David Johnson was the first Triumph home finishing in 13th place on the ACE Cafe London T3 racing bike.

In a race that produced lap records and a new race record going to Michael Dunlop we also saw personal best TT results for James Coward, Ryan Kneen and Michael Niblett. Michael Dunlop’s top form at this years Isle of Man TT continues, Michael now has seven TT wins and has won 4 out of 4 races at TT 2013.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *