Road Racer’s Adventures: Endurance World Championship, Spa

Road Racer’s Adventures: Endurance World Championship, Spa

Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium is a legendary venue for motorcycles, 6985 metres-4.340 miles long, with an iconic first section of the course, ‘Raidillon de l’Eau Rouge’.

During the circuit’s storied history, ran for many years on public roads, winners of races to name but a few include Stanley Woods, Jimmie Guthrie, Jimmie Simpson, Freddie Firth, Geoff Duke, Jim Redman, Phil Read, Gary Hocking and Giacomo Agostini.

This weekend it is the host of the latest EWC (Endurance World Championship) round with two support races, (BeNeLux – Belgium/Netherlands/Luxembourg Trophy races).

There are some interesting names for road racing fans to keep an eye in the start-list, for the EWC encounter.

Vincent Lonbois (IRRC Superbike 2016, 2022 Champion and overall lap record holder of Chimay and Frohburger Dreieck), Danny Webb (IRRC Superbike 2018 Champion and overall lap record holder of Imatranajo also fastest newcomer), Sheridan Morais (Supersport lap record holder of Frohburg), Karel Pesek (fastest newcomer of 2022 at Horice), Eemeli Lahti (fastest newcomer of 2023 in Imatra).

Frenchman Matthieu Lagrive (TT 2023 newcomer and Supersport lap record holder of Chimay) was also in announced start list in team with Karel Pesek but ultimately, he’s a non-starter.

There are experienced pure road racers in the BeNeLux Trophy start-list like IRRC Superbike 2024 entrants, Laurent Hoffmann, Come Geenen.

Experienced names in start-list of BeNeLux Trophy like include IRRC Superbike 2024 entrants Laurent Hoffmann and Come Geenen.

Additionally, there is Sebastien Le Grelle (IRRC Superbike 2015, 2017 Champion), Nicky De Wit (IRRC Superbike 2013 – 2nd place), Marcel Zuurbier (IRRC Supersport 2013 – 3rd place).

David Drieghe (3 Nations Cup 2004 – 2nd place), Erwan Bannwart and Gian Mertens (both former IRRC participants) and Belgian and Dutch riders experienced in last years with the Chimay Open Trophy, Varsselring in Hengelo, Bram Lambrechts, Wes Kleinfeld, Wouter De Cooman, Kees Boekel, Roy Muzzoni, Ouri Bikkems, Fredrik Matthys, Thibault De Hert.

The Start of the EWC 8 Hours race is scheduled on Saturday 1:00 PM. It means it is clashing with the final race of TT 2024.

Photo credit: Michael Wincott

Words by Jan Vavra

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles