Manx GP 100th Anniversary Publication Project Breaks Cover

Manx GP 100th Anniversary Publication Project Breaks Cover

In recognition of the event’s upcoming 100th anniversary, Manx Grand Prix organisers have unveiled plans for an upcoming publication to celebrate the MGP’s diverse, illustrious history.

The book that is hoped to be available from Autumn of 2022, is to be wrote by respected two wheel racing author David Wright, who’s previous publications include Speed At The TT Races and Mountain Milestone: 100 Years of the TT Mountain Course.

Since first entering race calendars worldwide in 1923 (first event winner Len Randles pictured above – Photo courtesy of Ann Kinvig), the Manx GP, originally titled up to 1929 as the Manx Amateur Road Races, has continuously provided the TT stars of tomorrow.

Overall over 60 racers who started their Mountain Course careers at the Manx, have gone onto become TT winners.

Amongst those include eight times World Champion Phil Read MBE, Nick Jefferies, Ivan Lintin, Geoff Duke, Brian Reid, Steve Hislop, Robert Dunlop, Michael Dunlop, Ryan Farquhar.

Seven times World Champion Carl Fogarty, Jamie Whitham, Geoff Johnson, Rob McElnea, Ian Hutchinson, Richard Quayle, Phil Mellor and Dave Leach.

Leading MGP to TT graduates of recent years have included Michael Evans, Tom Weeden, Andy Dudgeon, Scarborough’s Nick Anderson and Austria’s Julian Trummer.

Expect over the next few years more next gen, new wave roads talents go onto enjoy accomplished TT careers who have honed their Mountain Course race craft at the much loved MGP.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles