Road Racing News

Jessopp To Lead Away Bennetts Lightweight TT Field

Two time North West 200 race winner Martin Jessopp, will hold the coveted the number 1 plate for the Bennetts Lightweight race of TT 2018.

Runner up in last years Lightweight encounter, he’s tipped again to contend strongly for race honours aboard the Riders Motorcycles Kawasaki, which carries this year a striking orange and silver livery.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

The evergreen Michael Rutter, who’s reunited with the Paton mount that he propelled to Lightweight honours last year for TT 2018, holds the three plate.

Their’s an all star cast with regards to the holders of the five, six and seven plates, which consists of twice Lightweight class champion Ivan Lintin, new SC Project Paton signing Michael Dunlop and Gary Johnson back aboard the factory CF Moto steed.

Popular Italian racer Stefano Bonetti (8) part again of the works Paton set up, class returnee Ian Lougher (9) and reigning Joey Dunlop Championship winner Peter Hickman (10) conclude the impressive first ten starters line up.

Holders of the 11, 12 and 13 plates respectively are McAdoo Kawasaki’s James Cowton, fellow next gen roads star Adam McLean and twice Junior Manx GP champion Michael Sweeney.

PreZ Racing/JHS Racing backed Jamie Coward (16) heads the Suzuki entry, starting just behind the talented KMR Kawasaki duo of Frohburg lap record holder Danny Webb (14) and Irish road race Super Twins champion Derek McGee (15).

Remaining top 20 seeded riders are Rob Hodson (17), Derek Sheils (18) and 2017 Super Twins Manx GP winner Darren Cooper (19).

2013 TT privateers champion Dan Cooper is also a seed for the four lap race, it’s not clear though at present as to what start number he has been assigned.

Full re cap of the seeded starters, for the Bennetts Lightweight TT:

1 Martin Jessopp
3 Michael Rutter
5 Ivan Lintin
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Gary Johnson
8 Stefano Bonetti
9 Ian Lougher
10 Peter Hickman
11 James Cowton
12 Adam McLean
13 Michael Sweeney
14 Danny Webb
15 Derek McGee
16 Jamie Coward
17 Rob Hodson
18 Derek Sheils
19 Darren Cooper
TBC Dan Cooper

Words by Stevie Rial